Christmas Pinwheel Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by Christine M
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
I had a tough time with the dough in the beginning - probably between baking with a four year-old and working in a very warm kitchen, my first half batch of red and white just wasn't meant to be...so when I went to do the green ones, I chilled the dough before rolling it out, rolled each color out on waxed paper, which made assembly a snap, then chilled the log for maybe 4 hours...the result was very easy to work with! The cookies came out beautiful and taste great! I had a few scraps of dough from cutting and I rolled them into balls, dipped in sugar and baked as little round "marble cookies". If I ever have a problem with the dough again, I'll just do that, but I think with the extra chill time this recipe is a total winner! Thanks Gitano! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
Ok..trying this again. I wrote a review, added to it and the original one disappeared, so here goes..again. First, for those having trouble with getting nice round cookies, try using a cheese slicer. Second, I suggest a gel food coloring for cake decorating because it is easier to get rich color without adding a lot of extra liquid. Additionally, if your dough looks pink, don't be alarmed....it will darken in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
Very Good ! It was a bit trickier to assemble than I thought. The dough was very soft after I rolled it out and I needed four hands to place the layers together. Everything else was easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
This is an excellent recipe. As some folks have mentioned, it is best to roll the dough between two pieces of wax paper - makes it easier to lay one piece on top of the other. It's also best to refrigerate the dough a little bit before rolling it out. I added a small amount of peppermint extract to give the cookies more flavor - you could add whatever flavor you want. I added cocoa powder to half the dough to make a chocolate layer. The combination of chocolate and peppermint worked great for Christmas. I will be making these cookies again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Celeste
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
I loved these, although I suspect the brown sugar is what made them difficult for others, therefore I only used white sugar. I rolled the dough in between wax paper, layed them on a cutting board and stuck in the fridg. for 10 min. before putting the 2 doughs together and rolling. Then I froze the roll for an additional hour before cutting into slices, and baking. They turned out fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celeste

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Helena, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
I had a really hard time with the dough. It was so sticky to handle and I added more flour and refridgerated them overnight, but my batch was unsuccessful! Mine didn't look like any of the posted pics at all. The taste wasn't all that either. Not very sweet. I will NEVER make these again. A total waste of my ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherry Blossom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
Very festive cookies! I was a little stressed while making the dough. You definitely need to have an extra pair of hands around to help move the green dough on top of the red. But it was well worth it! They weren't too sweet either which is good for my family, since we have a few with diabetes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JDena
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
This is a good recipe! They are not as time consuming as others say either. I put the dough in the freezer for an hour and that was cooled perfectly to roll out. Wrapped back up and tossed back in the freezer to chill for the slicing. It worked out well. I mixed them at 9 am and was done early in the afternoon (when kids complied of course). My family enjoyed them very much! I will do these again with other combos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
I personally had a very difficult time with these cookies... I made the dough - put it in the fridge - took it out and rolled it - put it back in the fridge - took it out stacked on on the other and rolled it and then put it back in overnight... the dough gets very warm very quickly and I had a hard time cutting the cookies. you tend to squish the design on the cookie when you cut them. I even tried freezing the log... If you are any kind of a perfectionist - I don't think this is the right cookie for you. Taste like tea cake cookies. bakes up really light and crispy on the edges - not too sweet...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly and had no problems with the dough. You do need to make sure to flour your surface and rolling pin well. These cookies came out beautifully. I'll be making again next year. Oh, and they taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States