Christmas Pinwheel Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
I didn't have any issues with this recipe at all. I mixed the dough, colored the dough, then refrigerated it for an hour before rolling it out. I was able to place one colored dough on top of the other without the need of parchment or wax paper to transfer it. I had to bake the cookies longer than 5-6 minutes. I believe I baked them between 10-13 minutes because they were much too doughy otherwise. This is a light tasting cookie, which I love! Fantastic recipe which I will use again! Thanks Gitano!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Yum! Love these cookies. So buttery and delicious. I made three layers Red Yellow and Green. I put the dough on wax paper with wax paper on top it rolls out great. Plus you don't dirty the rolling pin :) After rolling the layers on wax paper it is just a matter of flipping the next layer on to the first. Which is very scary :) I think because of my 3 layers I got less cookies than stated. I got about 36 cookies out of the batch. Will make again (Probably real soon since the family has already ate most of these and they were supposed to be for Christmas.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Photo by inounvme
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly, no stickiness here! The only change is to use as much color as needed. This recipes was enjoyed by all and not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
Great cookie. I took the advice of others here and rolled out on waxed paper, then laid the layers on top of each other that way. Piece of cake. Or should I say cookie?! I added in 1/4 tsp of peppermint extract to the red dough and it gave a great flavor to the cookie. Very holiday. The only thing I'd do different next time would be make two rolls of dough, not one. The single roll that I made out of the dough was so big that my cookies were HUGE when I baked them. As in, about 4 inches in diameter! I like smaller cookies than that. So next time, I'll divide the dough into four piles - two red, two white, and then create two logs of cookie dough, using one of each red and white batch of dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
This was a very good and very easy recipe. Would definitely recomend! I did my own version thought. In one half of the dough, I added about 1/3 c. peanut butter and in the other half i added some melted chocolate. I froze the "log" for about 4 hours before I cut it. I would change one thing for the next time I make these. I would split the recipe in half and make two logs. The cookies ended up spreading some in the oven, creating some rather large cookies. Overall, a pretty good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westover, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine Boutwell Mita
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
I had a tough time with the dough in the beginning - probably between baking with a four year-old and working in a very warm kitchen, my first half batch of red and white just wasn't meant to be...so when I went to do the green ones, I chilled the dough before rolling it out, rolled each color out on waxed paper, which made assembly a snap, then chilled the log for maybe 4 hours...the result was very easy to work with! The cookies came out beautiful and taste great! I had a few scraps of dough from cutting and I rolled them into balls, dipped in sugar and baked as little round "marble cookies". If I ever have a problem with the dough again, I'll just do that, but I think with the extra chill time this recipe is a total winner! Thanks Gitano! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Boutwell Mita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
Ok..trying this again. I wrote a review, added to it and the original one disappeared, so here goes..again. First, for those having trouble with getting nice round cookies, try using a cheese slicer. Second, I suggest a gel food coloring for cake decorating because it is easier to get rich color without adding a lot of extra liquid. Additionally, if your dough looks pink, don't be alarmed....it will darken in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
Very Good ! It was a bit trickier to assemble than I thought. The dough was very soft after I rolled it out and I needed four hands to place the layers together. Everything else was easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
This is an excellent recipe. As some folks have mentioned, it is best to roll the dough between two pieces of wax paper - makes it easier to lay one piece on top of the other. It's also best to refrigerate the dough a little bit before rolling it out. I added a small amount of peppermint extract to give the cookies more flavor - you could add whatever flavor you want. I added cocoa powder to half the dough to make a chocolate layer. The combination of chocolate and peppermint worked great for Christmas. I will be making these cookies again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Celeste
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
I loved these, although I suspect the brown sugar is what made them difficult for others, therefore I only used white sugar. I rolled the dough in between wax paper, layed them on a cutting board and stuck in the fridg. for 10 min. before putting the 2 doughs together and rolling. Then I froze the roll for an additional hour before cutting into slices, and baking. They turned out fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celeste

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Helena, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States