Christmas Pinwheel Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
I am pinwheel cookie challenged. So I thought I could roll these like my pie crusts. After colouring the dough, (I cheated and used some kool aid to get the colors darker, though they don't show up dark in the picture) I rolled the dough out on flexible cutting boards. I could easily set the colours on top or each other to adjust size. I used a dough scraper to even off the edges and make square corners. Then I flipped the dough onto the other colour and peeled back the board, did this 2 times. I used the bottom cutting board to aid with rolling, similar to using a tea towel to roll a jelly roll. Wrapped in waxed paper and left to cool. Delicious cookies and will be fun to play with the colours according to the season. Next time I will leave the dough in the cutting board and wrap with elastic bands. This way the dough will not get a flat bottom as it cools. Thanks for the recipe Gitano-it's making the Christmas goodie list in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mallory Maloney
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
The first time I made these, ((For Halloween of 2008, in orange and black,)) They turned out absolutely horrible looking, as I'm not sure I followed the recipe exactly, haha. The second time around, though, ((For Christmas of 2009, in red and green,)) I followed the recipe extremely carefully, and guess what ...? They turned out absolutely brilliantly, both taste and looks wise! The only downside is that they're not the type of cookies that you can whip up in a single night --- They definitely take a lot of planning ahead and preparation beforehand. Other than that, though, I love 'em and I can't wait to make them again! I'm thinking maybe separating the dough into two or three segments and tinting each segment a pastel shade for Easter! ^_~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallory Maloney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
Had a little trouble rolling them, but I have never dont that before. They turned out like sugar cookie. I think I will add something for some flavor next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
I saw the picture and it brought back memories of grade school 35 years ago when a classmate's mother would send candy cane cookies in these colors to school. She made the dough and fashioned them into 'ropes' which she then twisted together and made into the shape of a candy cane. We LOVED those cookies, and I was just reminding my daughter the other day of Mary's candy cane cookies. I'm going to make them and keep this recipe. Thanks so much for the memories!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
I'm just getting into cooking and baking, and this was my first time making pinwheel cookies. Thankfully, the recipe was easy to follow and the cookies turned out soft and delicious! I was a bit worried that the batter was too runny/watery, and I had some difficulty when rolling it out. However, I followed some tips from other reviewers and refrigerated the rolled doughs for about 8-10 minutes, and everything was good to go! Awesome recipe; I'll definitely do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Elmina, Central, Ghana

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
I didn't have any issues with this recipe at all. I mixed the dough, colored the dough, then refrigerated it for an hour before rolling it out. I was able to place one colored dough on top of the other without the need of parchment or wax paper to transfer it. I had to bake the cookies longer than 5-6 minutes. I believe I baked them between 10-13 minutes because they were much too doughy otherwise. This is a light tasting cookie, which I love! Fantastic recipe which I will use again! Thanks Gitano!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Yum! Love these cookies. So buttery and delicious. I made three layers Red Yellow and Green. I put the dough on wax paper with wax paper on top it rolls out great. Plus you don't dirty the rolling pin :) After rolling the layers on wax paper it is just a matter of flipping the next layer on to the first. Which is very scary :) I think because of my 3 layers I got less cookies than stated. I got about 36 cookies out of the batch. Will make again (Probably real soon since the family has already ate most of these and they were supposed to be for Christmas.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Photo by inounvme
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly, no stickiness here! The only change is to use as much color as needed. This recipes was enjoyed by all and not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
Great cookie. I took the advice of others here and rolled out on waxed paper, then laid the layers on top of each other that way. Piece of cake. Or should I say cookie?! I added in 1/4 tsp of peppermint extract to the red dough and it gave a great flavor to the cookie. Very holiday. The only thing I'd do different next time would be make two rolls of dough, not one. The single roll that I made out of the dough was so big that my cookies were HUGE when I baked them. As in, about 4 inches in diameter! I like smaller cookies than that. So next time, I'll divide the dough into four piles - two red, two white, and then create two logs of cookie dough, using one of each red and white batch of dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
This was a very good and very easy recipe. Would definitely recomend! I did my own version thought. In one half of the dough, I added about 1/3 c. peanut butter and in the other half i added some melted chocolate. I froze the "log" for about 4 hours before I cut it. I would change one thing for the next time I make these. I would split the recipe in half and make two logs. The cookies ended up spreading some in the oven, creating some rather large cookies. Overall, a pretty good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westover, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States