Christmas Pinwheel Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Best cookie I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
difficult to get the perfect pinwheel shape, and it's not the most delicious cookie but it looks neat that's for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by konstantine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
These cookies are delicious, but VERY HARD WORK!!!! My advice is to skip the pinwheel part and enjoy this recipe as tasty little butter cookies. I had to: 1) make the dough a day ahead; 2) separate each color into three balls and refrigerate; 3) bring the balls out to warm for a few minutes, then roll out btw sheets of wax paper to very thin layers; 4) pop the layers back into the fridge for about 30 minutes; 5) take them back out and assemble the layers and use the rolling pin on them to get good adhesion; 6) put the flat layers back in the fridge for 30 minutes so they won't come apart or stick too much when rolling; 7) take them back out of the fridge and roll them into logs; 8) put the wax paper wrapped logs in the freezer for 30 minutes to an hour so they won't smush when slicing; 9) take them out, slice the logs into very thin cookies and bake on parchment. (!!!) I had to bake mine for about 7 minutes, 5 minutes were very underdone. Do a test batch of about 4 cookies to find the right time for your oven; don't waste a whole dozen like I did! As I said, these are delicious cookies! But unless you have hours and hours to spend on ONE recipe, roll these babies out and use them as cutouts, or even roll 1 inch balls and flatten with the bottom of a mug. Life will be much easier this way! ;0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MonroeMomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroe, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
The cookies tasted Great! But rolling it into a swirl was tricky, The dough kept cracking and crumbling :'( This recipe was good i guess :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by britney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
made red and green cookies today for christmas. only thing I did was refrigerate dough after I rolled it out and before rolling it together and then after I rolled the colors together I froze it for awhile before cutting. definetely use wax paper with these they get very sticky when they warm up. will make again when I have more time. They tasted good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
This was a really easy recipe to follow. My advice to get the swirls to roll easy is thus: Place waxed paper over a large cutting board. Spread 1 color dough over the waxed paper evenly. Place another sheet of waxed paper on top, and use another cutting board or something with a dull edge to smooth the dough. Try to fill in airgaps between the dough and the paper. Do this with all your dough, making sure you have 2 equal sized sheets of both colors per roll. Chill. Remove waxed paper from both sides of 1 color and top of the other. Place 1 dough on top of the other. allow to warm. Then roll with bottom sheet of paper, squeezing occasionally to press the doughs together. Chill again, then slice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
This is a pretty cookie. However, refriderating the dough before rolling would ensure a perfect round pinwheel. As for taste, I tasted a mildly sweet flour dough. Hugely disappointing after all the time spent. I did not serve them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Honey Bee
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Wonderful Christmas cookies. They basically tasted like a sort of sugar/shortbread cookie, they go great whit a nice warm drink, or just on their own. I like you can go crazy with different colors. I will say, that the recipe doesn't really specify on rolling the dough with use of any tools. I should have gone with my instinct and put a floured towel or wax paper under the dough for rolling to help me roll it up, because I didn't and had some issues with it falling and breaking, thus my "spirals" were a bit abstract looking but still pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Honey Bee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Love these cookies!! Very easy to make, and everyone loves them! They are beautiful and look so great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jodi
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I just had to try these but I really worried most about making these more than any others I planned to make - but they came out great, I was thrilled!! and I think they're the tastiest of all that I made Saturday - I love these!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States