Christmas Pinwheel Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Tasted great, looked ok, but was a bit tricky to roll, despite following the tips on the reviews section.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erinmccartan
Home Town: Georgetown, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
These cookies are amazing. I made some to take to work and no one belived me that they were home made!!! One thing that I have done is up the amount of Vanilla used. Just seems to work better for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
I found that theses cookies were quite simple to make, but needed a little more sugar as they were a bit bland. I also cut out the extra 1/3 cup of butter and found that they came out fine without it. The cookies did bake beautifully though, but i had to put some royal icing glaze on them to make up fo the sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Good recipe! I agree: use 1.5 cups white sugar, no brown. And freezing for one hour rather than chilling for 8 hours is so much faster and JUST as effective. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoveNCyprus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Malaga, Andalucia, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I just finished making a batch of these. I followed the recipe exactly, I only made mine plain and chocolate swirls. I made the chocolate by adding cocoa powder to the other half. It was a little difficult to roll out the dough, I would suggest chilling it for a while first. Otherwise they turned out great. I think they may taste a little better tomorrow, right now they are a little plain and bland tasting. A good cookie with coffee...!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Just made the chocolate version and it was wonderful! I laid off the brown sugar a bit though and rolled the log in red sugar (like Maurice Lenell's) which are my kids favorite! Dough was very soft and pliable to roll. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I had a lot of trouble with this dough as it kept cracking and crumbling when I went to roll it. Mine didn't turn out nearly as pretty as some of the pictures and they aren't really delicious cookies. Not bad, just not quite worth the struggle. I think the appeal is in how pretty they are supposed to be to look at but as I say, mine weren't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Time consuming as others said, but didn't find it was worth it. Pretty plain and almost unflavored cookies (and I did follow the recipe exactly as written).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
I needed a quick and easy recipe to make a LOT of cookies for an annual cookie exchange. These were perfect. Note, however, that you'll need much more food colouring than listed to get a vibrantly-coloured cookie like what's shown in the photo. Also, to keep my cookie-log from settling flat as it chilled, I slit an empty wrapping paper tube lengthwise, wrapped my dough in parchment, and slid it into the tube. Voila: nice round cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
the dough was sticky and didn't roll well and the cookies tasted horrible! I wont try this recipe again. I plan on putting frosting on them so the kids will eat them, but that sorta defeats the purpose of making a pinwheel cookie. The baking time was also off, I watched them and took them out as they got set, which was over 8 minutes. I will keep looking for a good pinwheel recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States