Christmas Pinwheel Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2015
After seeing all the great reviews I figured I would give it a try d
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
I've made these a couple times and enjoy them. The second batch I added peppermint extract to it. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sebastopol, California, USA
Living In: Petaluma, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
They looked nice but ended up being very bland! The cook time is too short and there was too much flower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ainslie G

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Wonderful cookie! Today I made a red and white version and added 1/2 tsp of peppermint extract to the red bowl of dough. Yum! Also had some melted chocolate left over from another recipe and dipped a few of these cookies halfway into the chocolate, oh emm gee! I think next time I may make a layered bar type of cookie, roll out the dough and use about 5 layers alternating colors, then dip half into the chocolate ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Eagle River, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
Worked great! Dusted with flour to roll the out and rolled them in parchement lined cookie sheets to get same size, delicious and pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
first color roll out I kept adding more flour because it was too sticky. Second color I put in fridge for a little while before rolling out. I should make these more than once a year so I remember what I did wrong the last time. Taste is awesome. So worth the work and I love the design.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
-don't roll the layers too thin, otherwise when you combine them, it isn't very distinct -Use more food coloring to make it more distinct -refrigerate dough if its too soft
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krisD

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
These cookies are well worth the work! I make these for Christmas and they make my cookie tray look amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winter Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I had no problems at all with this recipe, and followed it to the letter. I did find them very buttery, but as long as you keep the dough chilled they were really easy to do. My red/green ones looked kinda Dr. Seuss-y, which I totally liked. I think these would be great for any occasion. Really tasty, classic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Etobicoke, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
These instructions for the cookie are okay but tedious when they shouldn't be and lax when they should be tedious. In my opinion there is no need to sift and resift, a good stir to mix the dry ingredients well is enough. I think brown sugar is useless and makes things harder. My tips for this recipe would be: Roll the rectangles out between waxed/parchment paper and keep them in the fridge for 30 minutes THEN put them on top of each other. Roll into the log and refrigerate overnight before trying to slice them. There is no need to place them on a lightly floured surface, the wax/parchment paper should prevent sticking as you cut them. To make one half chocolate, just mix in 1/4 cup cocoa powder. There's no need to melt and cool chocolate...what a waste. To the white half you can add 1/3 cup almond flour, ground almonds or a teaspoon of peppermint essence.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne Lawrence

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States