Christmas Ornament Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2000
This was a really easy recipe to make, and the cookies are spicy without being overly so. I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MagicallyDelicious

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SUGARPLUMSCOOKIES
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2005
This recipe keeps its shape well and tastes great. Thanks, Pam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUGARPLUMSCOOKIES

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
I've been baking cookies for more than 45 years, and this is the absolute best gingerbread cookie I have ever tried. The dough handled beautifully, required no chilling and didn't spread in the oven. They taste wonderful, too. The icing recipe included is also good, though I had to add more milk to make it go through the decorator without effort. If higher humidity makes the dough sticky (which I doubt will happen with this recipe) you can always roll it between sheets of parchment paper and freeze it. It will be easy to cut almost straight out of the freezer. Works with any roll-out cookie dough. If all else failed, you could make drop cookies. Throw out cookie dough? Not in this lifetime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSEP47

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I agree it's a great solid cookie. Texture was perfect. I used Karo syrup instead of molasses, and 2tsp. of Oriental spice instead of all the other spices. Came out to be a perfect cookie to have with a cup of tea. I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2001
I have made Gingerbread cookies before because I love the taste of molasses. Those were very sharp and I was the only one who really liked them. This recipe is easy! The gingerbread dough is very stiff, and I used my mixer with the dough hooks to mix. It has a lovely mild taste that is spicy enough for me, yet my husband loves these cookies too. It will be a Christmas regular for the rest of my days!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2003
Great and easy recipe, even my 3-year old enjoyed rolling out the dough. we made dinosaur footprints on regular cookie circles and stamped faces of his favorite cartoons, and they baked great! I made changes to the spices though, because i only used what i had at the moment...i used grated fresh ginger instead of the powdered and changed the nutmeg to freshly ground cloves. The molasses i used was the Billington's Molassess unrefined cane sugar, and it worked very well. Great recipe to begin with, i can't wait to experiment and just use freshly grated lemon and orange rind in leiu of the spices for a more refreshing taste. Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2004
These cookies were incredibly good! We didn't use them as ornaments, just made them to decorate and eat. The first batch didn't even make it to decorating, we just gobbled them up! This dough was the best for cutouts. I chilled it for only a half hour and it was wonderful. I think if you changed the name of the recipe to Christmas Cookie Cutouts you would have a ton of rave reviews- I don't think enough people are finding this gem of a cookie recipe :) Thanks for the new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
Excellent Cookie! Stays soft, just cover. Nice flavour, added an extra tsp of cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnneRoberts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North York, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Erin, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Best cut out dough I've used. Great flavor not too spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
This is my new favorite cookie. Thank you so much for sharing. The only thing I did different was to use lemon flavoring in the icing (that is what my grandmother always flavored her gingerbread men with). Absolutely perfect, my kids loved making them and my husband AND kids loved eating them! Thank you again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States