Christmas Onion Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
Needed a recipe to replace store bought cream of onion soup (since I didn't have any) for scalloped potato and pork chop casserole. Worked wonderfully! Wasn't sure how to cut onion since recipe didn't state so I just diced them, making it harder for my kids to pick them out of the casserole!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by F.S. ohio

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Awesome! I could tell the seasoning wouldn't be enough as written so I added a cube of beef boullion. Best comfort food ever...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
I was concerned with taste after reading some comments. I ended up altering the recipe as follows: After sauteing the onions and adding the milk as directed, I simmered the soup for 10 min, stirring occasionally. At the 10 minute mark, I added seasoning, half a tsp of minced garlic, and the beat egg mixture, then simmered for 10 more minutes, Stirring occasionally. I'll have to try this with the parmesan cheese topping because I didn't have any on hand tonight. With my modifications, A hit with the family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae Clark

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
This is a good base soup, but it needs a bit of help in the seasoning department. First, I added garlic powder to the onions. Second, I don't do raw eggs, so, when I added the yolk mixture, I turned the heat up a little more, constantly stirred for about 8 more minutes. I added a little sea salt, lots of ground pepper and a heaping 1/4 tsp of allspice. After the soup was in bowls, I added shredded cheese and grated parmesan. My hubby & I found this to be tasty. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggi B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2005
I did not care for this recipe. It tasted like flour. Bland. Maybe it was something I did but I am pretty sure I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Zachary, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2005
i liked this recipe alot although I agree its a bit bland. its really a good soup for a cold day :-) I just add a little more salt and serve it with parmesan toast on top, sort of how you'd do with french onion soup. (put the soup in crocks, w/toasted sourdough slices on top, sprinkle with coursely grated parmesan and stick it under the broiler).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2004
This sounded interesting so we gave it a shot. Not sure that we'll do this again, though. ha! Note that this is VERY BLAND. We had never eaten a milk-based onion soup. Like many of you, I'm sure, our family is more familiar with the Lipton variety! But we enjoy exploring the recipes on the site and we like trying new things.... Overall, this recipe lacks spice. Adding more salt and pepper helped but it was still, by no means, a savory soup. Any advice in this area would be appreciated! Personally, I didn't finish my bowl...I moved on to the main course. My family, however, did finish their helpings (I can't help but feel that they were simply being polite!) For my taste, this is a wonderful idea that didn't score high in this Southern household. I would recommend to keep looking for another soup unless you enjoy experimenting. If you do go forth, make sure you have other options on hand! ha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2003
My husband and I really liked this soup! Instead of bread, I threw some homemade garlic croutons in with the parmesan - very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2002
This was digusting! In the end, it tasted like raw eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2002
Excellent low-fat alternative to the heavy cream-based soups. I found it a little bland, however, so I added 1/4 teaspoon of allspice, which gave it an interesting flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Slow Cooker French Onion Soup

A cheesy French onion soup with a comforting beefy broth.

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States