Christmas Morning Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
GOOD IDEA, BUT RESCUE THIS RECIPE LIKE SO: The idea for this recipe was almost certainly gleaned from a bed & breakfast cookbook, the idea being that B&B owners are very busy in the morning, so they do as much prep the night before as they can. You can still accomplish the convenience, however, without the awful (think wallpaper paste) texture of crock-pot cooked oatmeal, and still avoid having much to do or clean up in the morning. Here's how: THE NIGHT BEFORE: toss together the following, and store in an airtight bowl in the fridge: sugar, spices, salt, cut up butter, cut up apples, cranberries (I substituted raisins), and nuts (I used slivered almonds). IN THE MORNING: put 2 1/2 cups water and the bowl full of sugar/fruit into a large pot and bring to a boil. Forget all that juice--too sweet! Notice that the total liquids is significantly reduced from the original recipe, because it's not sitting all night in a crock pot, getting "pasty". When it just begins to boil, add 2 cups regular rolled oats and cook 5 minutes. Done! All you had to do in the morning was combine pre-prepared ingredients and cook 5 minutes. You get delicious gourmet oatmeal without the "yucky" texture, and your kitchen is still clean in the morning because you did all the prep and clean-up the night before. One more tip, for those looking for home-made breakfasts without the chaos and mess (and time!) in the mornings: You can make pretty much anything the night before and just bake, cook,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
192 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
To avoid burning my crockpot, I used a Reynolds turkey cooking bag and lined my crockpot with it. I made this for my husband's family and they loved it- even the avowed non-oatmeals eaters! Just because I love the spice with apples, I added cardamom to the spice mix. I tripled this recipe (I have a very large crockpot) and it held up just fine. The only thing I would do differently, when I enlarge the recipe is cut back on the cinnamon, because tripling that was way too much. I loved the combination of cranberry and nutmeg. This also reheated very very well-- after leaving my husband's family, the oatmeal sat for about and hour and half, before I plugged in the crockpot again at my parents, and it warmed back up delightfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
We thought this was wonderful. I sprayed the crockpot with pam, and didn't have any problems with sticking. I have an extremely hot crockpot, so I only put it on "keep warm" about 2am, and it was ready and perfect by 7am. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
My first recipe choice this morning didn't pan out so this was my second start at a hot breakfast for the family. I did not make this in a slow cooker, I didn't have time for that. I actually made this recipe in my rice cooker! I didn't need AS much liquid, I used a cup and a half of water and a cup and a half of apple juice. I just kind of guessed. This worked out well for me and the smell of it cooking was amazing. The amount of sugar and spice was perfect and the fruit cooking along with the oatmeal gave it such amazing flavor. I loved that I could just throw everything together and let it go. Even though I didn't cook it in a crockpot, I think I got the best of the recipe without all the gumminess or burned oatmeal. I think cooking it in my rice cooker could use a little playing around with as far as the liquids go but for me, it was still a winner. Thanks for this great recipe--it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
My husband and 15 yr old son love oatmeal so I made this for Christmas morning. Followed recipe and cooked on low about 8 hrs...smelled and tasted wonderful. Nice base recipe to play around with. The only thing I would do different next time is to not cook it so long- found it to be a bit mushy, which is why I gave it 4 stars and not 5... Thanks for this very different and yummy breakfast treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trumpet Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blackstone, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
Very good!!!! next time I'll use a steel cut oatmeal...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
It burned my crockpot past repair. Perhaps if the sauce was mixed in before cooking it would have been allright. The flavor was great, and it was easy. It was popular with the guys. They all thought it was great. Flavorful, sweet. I didn't have enough nutmeg so used 1/2 nutmeg and made up the spices with a bit of coriander & mostly pumpkin pie seasoning. I don't think it is critical as long as you get enough spices in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurel Fitzhugh

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prescott, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
The flavor reminds me of an apple crisp. I stuck to the recipe but had to sub 1 extra cup of water for the apple juice (didn't have) and used 1 cup of crangrape for the cranberry juice. I will probably use the steel cut oats next time. The rolled oats are a little mushy (I did not stir until I served it). I will also add more apples and cut in larger pieces. Great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
Took my crockpot with us camping, and made this recipe for our last morning. Worked great to have a tasty, no fuss, few dishes meal before packing up to go home. (we had brown and serve sausages with it) HOWEVER, a word of caution for anyone wanting to increase the serving size. I needed to feed a group of 12, so I tripled the recipe. However, 12 cups of liquid (6 cups of water and 6 cups of juice) seemed like way too much. I decreased it to a total of 8 1/2 cups liquid, and it was still a bit more soupy than we would have prefered. 7 or 71/2 cups would have been enough liquid. Also, it was quite sweet. If I triple the recipe again, I'll only double the brown sugar. I have a large crock pot (20 cup capacity) and the triple batch (with 8.5 c liquid) filled it almost to the top. And yes, we had a lot left over. A double batch would have served 12 easily, even though almost everyone had seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
I had no problems with my crock pot burning. It looked and tasted like beautiful oatmeal with some gourmet touches. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Baked Oatmeal II

This oatmeal is rich, delicious, and very open to your creative touches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States