Christmas Morning Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
My husband and I loved this oatmeal, but a couple of the kids did not like the cranberries. I am going to make it again and substitute raisins and white grape juice. Thank you for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
The flavor was good, but the texture was off - kind of like pie filling. I would use steel cut oats in the future. My 9 year old said it tasted better than it looked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
I followed lots of tips; I used steel-cut oats, 1/2 cup sugar (that was just our addition), cut the cinnamon to 1 tsp. added 1/2 tsp. apple pie spice, 1 apple, a few T of cranberries for color, 1 cup of cran/raspberry juice and 3 cups water.. I accidently put the nuts in too the night before!.. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
This is a regular in our house now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New Martinsville, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
The flavor reminds me of an apple crisp. I stuck to the recipe but had to sub 1 extra cup of water for the apple juice (didn't have) and used 1 cup of crangrape for the cranberry juice. I will probably use the steel cut oats next time. The rolled oats are a little mushy (I did not stir until I served it). I will also add more apples and cut in larger pieces. Great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
GOOD IDEA, BUT RESCUE THIS RECIPE LIKE SO: The idea for this recipe was almost certainly gleaned from a bed & breakfast cookbook, the idea being that B&B owners are very busy in the morning, so they do as much prep the night before as they can. You can still accomplish the convenience, however, without the awful (think wallpaper paste) texture of crock-pot cooked oatmeal, and still avoid having much to do or clean up in the morning. Here's how: THE NIGHT BEFORE: toss together the following, and store in an airtight bowl in the fridge: sugar, spices, salt, cut up butter, cut up apples, cranberries (I substituted raisins), and nuts (I used slivered almonds). IN THE MORNING: put 2 1/2 cups water and the bowl full of sugar/fruit into a large pot and bring to a boil. Forget all that juice--too sweet! Notice that the total liquids is significantly reduced from the original recipe, because it's not sitting all night in a crock pot, getting "pasty". When it just begins to boil, add 2 cups regular rolled oats and cook 5 minutes. Done! All you had to do in the morning was combine pre-prepared ingredients and cook 5 minutes. You get delicious gourmet oatmeal without the "yucky" texture, and your kitchen is still clean in the morning because you did all the prep and clean-up the night before. One more tip, for those looking for home-made breakfasts without the chaos and mess (and time!) in the mornings: You can make pretty much anything the night before and just bake, cook,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
190 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
Very tart - but good. Next time I'll use a different type of apple and maybe cut down on the cranberry juice. Good and super easy to put together. It's best served and cooled slightly before eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
I wanted to love this recipe, but I should have listened to the majority of the reviews.. As soon as I lifted the lid, it smelt bad and the apples were bland and tasteless. The oatmeal was very tart from the Cranberry juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ana B.ee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
This oatmeal recipe is not good. Way too much going on - the amount of spices was too great, and there just wasn't enough oats to make it seem like oatmeal. I hate that I wasted my time with it for Christmas breakfast!!! (And I even read the reviews; now I wish I would've listened!) My husband thought it had too much spice in it, and he usually likes everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
Much too tart for us. Came out pretty goopy (and I used steel cut oats).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Baked Oatmeal II

This oatmeal is rich, delicious, and very open to your creative touches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States