Christmas Morning Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
We've made this for our Christmas morning too! Thank you for sharing & helping us create a new tradition. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Very good idea, using slow cooker, I did not add butter and no sugar, is healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
I made this for Christmas morning for the first time, and it was not good. Too bitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amharmonious

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Oswego, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
I double the fruit, leave out the butter, and sometimes substitute the juice for milk. Still very sweet and a family favorite. Also, I like to add the nuts in at the end (about last hour or so), otherwise they don't add as much to the dish. Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
This was an incredibly yummy dish. My husband who does not even like oatmeal thought it was great! The mixture of flavors was delicious and on a cold morning it felt great in the tummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
I used 2 1/2 oats with 2 n half cups water, 2 1/2cups nonfat milk. Used fresh bananas (2) and strawberries ( about 8) ,3 tblespn brown sugar and truvia sugar, 2 tablespoon light tablespoon butter...cook 2 hours low, 5 hrs warm and then 2 hrs hrs on low. perfect. I did leave strawberries and bananas - 2 tablespoons brown sugar and 2 tablespoon sugar truvia to set in fridge in 2 hours before layering in crockpot first...then oatmeal (old fashion_ with another 2 tablespoon brown sugar and truvia...make sure you spray crock pot with olive oil and canola oil (sugar and fat free) with butter spray (must be spray) first and it wont stick. Sprinkle with fat and sugar free maple syrup and a little bit more truvia...YUMMY..oh and I used almonds
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
2 stars based on the cooking outcome, not flavor. This recipe did not work for me or my crockpot. There was way too much liquid, the oatmeal was mushy and the oatmeal burned to the side (thankfully I used a liner). It smelled good, but based on the looks alone, my hubby refused to try it. I did eat 1 bowl full, it possibly could be salvaged by adding more oats while it is still warm. Flavor wise, I had to make some adjustments since I didn't have all the ingrdients (although they shouldn't have affected the outcome). I did use regular rolled oats (not quick cook or steel cut) I used frozen cherries as my fruit, added walnuts before cooking (big mistake-they turned out soft an inedible). I didn't have regular apple juice or cranbery juice so I used a Motts Medley Apple (w/ carrot) it was ok, but not the best. I did end up adding to my bowl more brown sugar, as the cherries were a bit tart. I didn't think my crockpot would let me set it to warm for 8hrs so I used low for 8hrs, it did then sit on warm for an extra hour. I think this recipe may still be doable, with some tweeks for my crockpot. Next time I will definitely try WARM and less liquid by atleast 1 cup. Based on what I've read, steel cut oats probably would give better results (but they are much more expensive to mess up on) Liner bag is a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nokomis, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Made as written, it isn't that great - too sweet and too liquidy. Though, unlike other reviewers, I had no problems with the slow cooker burning. The second time I made it, I doubled the recipe, but left out the walnuts. I also used less water and juice and brown sugar. This time it was perfect and I'm planning to make it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
Have made this and variations several times. Measure the nutmeg carefully (don't over use). Never had an issue with it being too dry. Fun to wake up any morning with tasty hot oatmeal ready to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
I didn't do it via crockpot, but it was delicious and my hubby agreed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Baked Oatmeal II

This oatmeal is rich, delicious, and very open to your creative touches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States