Christmas Morning Egg Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
Recipe Group Selection for 11/8/2014 –I appreciated the simplicity of this recipe and how easy it is to adjust to your personal tastes. I substituted Johnsonville sweet sausage that I had browned instead of the ham, and topped with a mixture of different cheeses I needed to use up. I didn’t bother to remove the crusts. It was filling and delicious - pure comfort food. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Very good! I think the ground mustard gives it an extra good flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
Very good! I took this to a potluck brunch, everyone complimented the recipe and asked where they could find it. I used Colby Jack cheese instead of american cheese. Very mild flavor. Very Nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meaghan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dundalk, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Easy to put together and delish in the morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
Delicious! I make this for a work party brunch, everyone asked for the recipe. I used ground sausage instead of links (Jimmy Deans Country Style), and baked closer to 80 minutes since I used a smaller, deeper casserole dish. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
Simple recipe with loads of flavor. I took it to a brunch and everyone complimented me on it. Even people who said they normally don't like egg casseroles. I used sharp cheddar cheese as that is all I had, cubed ham instead of diced and cut the salt down to 1/2 tsp. I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 because it was really watery on the bottom after baking. I will make again but will probably add another egg or two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Recipe Group Selection: 08, November 2014 ~ A very good basic breakfast casserole dish. I only had 6 slices of bread, so I did not cut the crust off the 6 pieces I had, to make up for the seventh piece. I used 1 cup of milk and 2 cups of Half and Half for the liquid. This baked up nicely and set up perfectly. I did let is rest for about 8 minutes before cutting. This was served with fresh fruit and 'Banana Plum Bread' from AR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
I had a ton of cheese left over that I was afraid to use because it was going to be all cheese and very little egg. I cut the cheese in half and doubled the egg. The point was to have an "egg" casserole. This is a good recipe and it's easy to modify it to your own preference.. and that's what I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rev. Linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Keller, Texas, USA
Living In: Carmel, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
I live in Spain so some of these ingredients were hard to come by. I dressed this recipe up a little by subbing a mild Emmenthal for the American cheese, french bread cubes (with crust) for the wonder bread, and a tablespoon of dijon mustard for the dry mustard. We did indeed have the casserole for Christmas morning, and really enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Recipe Group: Solid breakfast recipe. I enjoyed it very much. The only change I made was to add a little bit of freshly ground white pepper. I did find it a bit salty, but that may be because we are not accustomed to eating American cheese. There was a little water at the bottom of the pan but not enough to concern me. I did only refrigerate for an hour before baking. Looking forward to leftovers for breakfast tomorrow :) Thanks for sharing your recipe, Karen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Egg Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy breakfast casserole.

Christmas Breakfast Sausage Casserole

Make this special casserole for a Christmas morning treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States