Christmas Morning Egg Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Very good! I think the ground mustard gives it an extra good flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
I live in Spain so some of these ingredients were hard to come by. I dressed this recipe up a little by subbing a mild Emmenthal for the American cheese, french bread cubes (with crust) for the wonder bread, and a tablespoon of dijon mustard for the dry mustard. We did indeed have the casserole for Christmas morning, and really enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
Simple recipe with loads of flavor. I took it to a brunch and everyone complimented me on it. Even people who said they normally don't like egg casseroles. I used sharp cheddar cheese as that is all I had, cubed ham instead of diced and cut the salt down to 1/2 tsp. I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 because it was really watery on the bottom after baking. I will make again but will probably add another egg or two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Easy to put together and delish in the morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Recipe Group Selection: 08, November 2014 ~ A very good basic breakfast casserole dish. I only had 6 slices of bread, so I did not cut the crust off the 6 pieces I had, to make up for the seventh piece. I used 1 cup of milk and 2 cups of Half and Half for the liquid. This baked up nicely and set up perfectly. I did let is rest for about 8 minutes before cutting. This was served with fresh fruit and 'Banana Plum Bread' from AR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Recipe Group: Solid breakfast recipe. I enjoyed it very much. The only change I made was to add a little bit of freshly ground white pepper. I did find it a bit salty, but that may be because we are not accustomed to eating American cheese. There was a little water at the bottom of the pan but not enough to concern me. I did only refrigerate for an hour before baking. Looking forward to leftovers for breakfast tomorrow :) Thanks for sharing your recipe, Karen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
Recipe Group Selection for 11/8/2014 –I appreciated the simplicity of this recipe and how easy it is to adjust to your personal tastes. I substituted Johnsonville sweet sausage that I had browned instead of the ham, and topped with a mixture of different cheeses I needed to use up. I didn’t bother to remove the crusts. It was filling and delicious - pure comfort food. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
This was quite good! Much easier than my previous breakfast casserole. I used Sara Lee Texas Toast and a couple of extra eggs. I also used shredded chedder instead of American cheese. I only had lunch cut Black Forest Ham which I cut up and still, this was a winner!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraAnne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Photo by FrackFamily5
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
This was a quick way to make Christmas breakfast. BUT my guys didn't like it!! It was a texture thing. I thought the flavor was good. I used 6 slices of wheat bread with the crusts on, jack cheese and turkey sausage for the ham. You can't beat the ease in the morning. Can't say I will make it again because of my picky kids but if you are looking for an easy tasty breakfast casserole this is a great choice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
I had a ton of cheese left over that I was afraid to use because it was going to be all cheese and very little egg. I cut the cheese in half and doubled the egg. The point was to have an "egg" casserole. This is a good recipe and it's easy to modify it to your own preference.. and that's what I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rev. Linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Keller, Texas, USA
Living In: Carmel, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Egg Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy breakfast casserole.

Christmas Breakfast Sausage Casserole

Make this special casserole for a Christmas morning treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States