Christmas Maple Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
I wish I would have read the reviews first and heated on the stove in a pan. I ruined a perfectly good glass mixing bowl which completely cracked after putting in the ice water. Tasted a bit of the fudge - way too sweet and very gritty. Very disappointing. I had to throw everything out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
After reading some reviews I didn't even bother trying the microwave and did it on the stove. It turned out awesome and is everyone's new favorite fudge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Griffin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
I got a new microwave oven, and i guess the power makes a difference to the cooking time, because when i made a batch as before, it set faster than i could get it in the dish. It was crumbly, but i love this recipe so much that i couldnt give up without tweaking the microwave cooking time. I lessened the time by 2 minutes, and it worked out! The original name of this recipe is "sucre-a-creme", but i changed it to fudge so that others would have a point of reference. I agree its not exactly fudge, however i prefer this to any fudge i have everly tried. It made 30 pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
This didn't turn out at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Roxanne J.R.
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
Perfection! This is what we call fudge in my country (Trinidad and Toabgo) First I halved this recipe for two reasons - 1. the amount it claims to make and 2. the bad reviews, but I was really craving this sweet and hoped it would turn out like the type I buy here. First I left out the ice bath step and followed the recipe using the stove top instead of the microwave and I let it cook on low heat till it reached 240 degrees on my candy thermometer. I swiftly removed it from the heat and added in 1 tbsp of butter (yes, I put in more butter, if making the full recipe I'd use 2 tbsps) and the maple extract, then took my whisk and put my strength into it and beat it for about 1 -2 minutes till it stopped looking like caramel and more glossy and thick. From here it is race to pour it into your waiting dish cause it starts to set up almost immediately! I scored my fudge and left it to cool for about an hour at room temp. and it is perfect! Exactly what I wanted. Smooth, melt in your mouth, delicious fudge! Now my beef with the serving size - I got way less than this recipe says, unless you are cutting this the size of mints maybe. I will be making this again and the full recipe too! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne J.R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Fudge? Uhh... no. More like a really, really tasty caramel sauce. Using the stovetop I followed the recipe up to the sink immersion bit because I didn't want to waste a bunch of water and ice. Possibly that affected how it set? I let it reach 236 and then turned off the heat and just stirred it for a while until it cooled. Never hardened into fudge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Did not have any luck with the fudge. Took others advice and cooked it on the stove and still did not turn out well. Came out very gritty and did not form like fudge should. Flavor was good but I was disappointed with the final results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
This tastes just like the maple fudge my Gramma used to make during Christmas. She always added chopped walnuts to hers. I prefer chopped pecans. Good stuff, and very easy. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
This is a good recipe, but not for fudge. The end result ends up being much like maple-flavored toffee. My mother-in-law and I decided we would just tell people we made maple toffee instead of maple fudge. :p. The only change we made was using a half cup of maple syrup (we were out of maple extract) and then just added a half cup less brown sugar. It tastes really good, it's just not fudge. At all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
I'm not exactly sure why this recipe is called fudge but it is not. I should have realized something was wrong when looking at the recipe but it is missing the bulk....marshmellows, mm cream or whatever. This is much more similar to a caramel recipe but even though i've had my fair share of candy making in the past and followed the directions to a "T" it came out very grainy. It did have a good flavor though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Christmas Miracle Fudge

See how to make rich, amazing fudge with no dairy.

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States