Christmas Green Chile Egg Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
I used my cast iron skillet for this recipe. I did add one small diced onion and a good amount homemade roasted garlic. I used only ONE 4 ounce can of mild diced green chiles. We LOVED this egg casserole. I made a BIG breakfast to go with it; homemade waffles, bacon-y home fries and served it with homemade salsa and sour cream on the side. NO leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
Delicious, with adjustments. I served it with some tortillas and hot sauce for people to make their own breakfast burritos. Flavor and mouthfeel adjustments: used 3 cans of diced green chiles (2 mild, 1 hot), sauteed a yellow onion and 1 clove of garlic with a little chili powder, used a mix of jack and cheddar cheese. Healthier adjustments: did not use any butter, reduced the cheese to 3 cups instead of 4, and used reduced fat cottage cheese. 3 cups of shredded cheese is still plenty for an egg casserole, and the butter serves no purpose in this recipe other than adding flavor (and a ton of extra fat). Also used 1/2 cup of flour as called for in other versions of this recipe floating around on the internet. I think it needs the extra flour to help it set. Baked it in a 9x13 casserole dish and it definitely served more than 8!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eatcookdream

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
This was surprisingly good. I could see it was going to make alot so I adjusted the recipe to cut it in half. After 15 minutes at 400 degrees, I also adjusted the 50 minute cook time to 25 minutes. I followed the recipe except that I added a pinch of black pepper. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
I think that the quality of the chili used is central to making it taste delicious. If you can't fand any fresh, use powdered chili from New Mexico. I always get my chili from the Chimayo Chile Brothers. New Mexico Chile Rules!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
We have been making this recipe for about 12 years. It is SO easy. I agree that the butter and cheese can easily be reduced. I also add a tablespoon or two of brewers yeast and sometimes I add flax meal just for a boost in nutrients. I use two 7oz cans of green chilies and I like to serve it with fresh avocado. This is my go to recipe when taking a meal to someone who just had a baby or is recovering from illness. It is also easy to ditch the chillies and put in something as a sub--ham, mushrooms, onions, sausage, whatever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
Made this today followed other review to cut the butter added onion garlic and ground sausage, also used pepper jack cheese. Had people asking for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
I also cut this in half and it worked out great. This is so light and fluffy. We ate it with fresh salsa! This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lisa
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
I added about 2 Tbl chopped red peppers. I actually used a 7x10 baking dish & the butter was boiling up over the pan all over my oven :( I ended up taking it out & draining some of the butter off & it was still VERY greasy & salty to eat. The outer edges got super crispy brown while the inside was still very loose. Baking time was off, temp just not right. Just not impressed w/this version at all(original version is a Taste of Home recipe called "Southwestern Egg Casserole).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chile Rellenos Casserole

See a simple, shortcut version of cheesy chile rellenos.

Christmas Brunch Casserole

This hearty casserole is a hit at the holidays, or any time.

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States