Christmas Gift Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
This is a very tasty pumpkin bread recipe with a lot going on! Chocolate chips and walnuts, yum! I did have to cook it for 10 minutes longer than the recipe called for so make sure and test to see if it's done. It was simple to make and the icing seemed to soften the crust, which was a little hard but not bad. I will definitely be making some loaves to give out as Christmas gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Canyon Lake, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
I used white chocolate and it was even better ,especially when served warm .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
This was very good. I changed out some of the flour for whole wheat, but other than that followed the recipe as written. Very tasty, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by ben
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
I changed this recipe by removing the nuts and chocolate, and added a handfull of sunflower seeds. I would suggest adding more sugar (maybe 1/4 cup), and reducing or removing the nutmeg, as I found it to be coming through a little too strong. Also, if going with sunfower seeds as I did, I'd suggest using approx 1/2cup to 1cup, as my handfull was just an afterthought. Great texture and moisture to this recipe, bakes up great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ben

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
Very good bread! I didn't have semi sweet chips, so used milk chocolate instead. Also, used 1/2 cup brown sugar & 1/2 white sugar. I omitted the icing because I wanted to keep the taste a little more simple & wanted to just have it warm with butter. Will for sure make again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADZELL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
This is an excellent bread for giving at the Holidays. I have made this bread for 2 years now and everyone loves it! I have not made any changes, it is great as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suzannelaux

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kewaunee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
...Made this bread to add to my sweets platter. Omitted the nuts, used mini chips and topped with penuche icing..kept really well in the fridge until it was time to slice and serve. The guys at the shop really liked this one. Making another loaf for a party we will be attending...Thanks ABNER100!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LPHILLIPS9

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
Came out perfectly every time! I've made three loaves to give away. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura-Jane

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Parksville, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Montague, Prince Edward Island, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
This loaf comes out beautiful. I did a triple batch and was able to generate 10 mini-loafs, I baked them for about 45 minutes in total. I can't speak to the flavor because I gave them away, but no complaints!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Defiance, Ohio, USA
Living In: Beverly Hills, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
This was really good. I used only Robin Hood Multi Grain flour for bread and didn't make the icing and it turned out great and was very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Chef John’s Christmas Miracle Fudge

See how to make rich, amazing fudge with no dairy.

Christmas Fruitcake

This light, delicious fruitcake features dried, not candied, fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States