Christmas Fruitcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by hitherecookie
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
I might be reviewing this recipe prematurely because it's only been out of the oven for an hour, but this is my first attempt at making fruitcake and I'm quite excited about it. Disclaimer! I love this recipe, even though I made some modifications. First, I think you really can use any fruit you want for this recipe. Although I'm sure the original is delicious exactly as it is, it's probably safe to use whatever fruit you have. I used: Candied citron, Currants, Dried papaya (instead of mango), Prunes (instead of cherries due to a food allergy), and Figs (because I had them). I also doubled the recipe. And, to add insult to injury, I made this recipe gluten free. SORRY! For gluten-free, here's my modification (and it worked GREAT!) . Instead of the all purpose flour, I used (remember I doubled the recipe!) 1/4 cup sweet rice flour (Mochiko sweet rice flour) and 3/4 cup Bob's Red Mill gluten-free all purpose flour plus 1 tsp xanthan gum. The cake rose nicely and since I was bad and had a little nibble already, I can say the flavor is wonderful. My cake doesn't look very much like the ones posted. Mine is much darker, so I wonder if my changes were a bit too much, or if I made a mistake somewhere along the way. It's fine though, I think it's perfect. For a more cake-like consistency, I might add an additional 1/4 cup of sorghum flour, but I'm pretty new to gluten-free baking too so someone with more experience might want to comment. Thank you for the yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hitherecookie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
This cake is deeeeliscious!!! Good thing I made four right away because it hasn't been 10 weeks yet and we already ate two loaves. My kids love it too. I found that the molasses was a bit too strong for my liking so I made another batch of 6 (that's how yummy it is) with a combination of dark molasses and a lighter molasses. The batter tasted great but I haven't tried the actual cake cause I am still ageing it. I made two with Brandy and the rest with Rhum. Will update when I finally taste the next batch. Can't wait to serve this for Christmas and New Year. I'm sure my guest will love it too. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
I made this cake last night for the holidays. The cake came out fine, however, I did not have a 6 x 3 pan & I wanted to be able to put it in a holiday tin, so I baked it in a larger pan and it came out really thin. The only recommendation I can give you is to buy the smaller pan, one that will fit the tin, or line a tin with foil and use that for the pan. I wish I would have doubled the recipe or used a loaf pan, but I was concerned about how I was going to let it sit for 10 weeks if I used a loaf pan. The recipe itself, as I said turned out great, and I am planning on looking for a 3 x 6 pan for my next cake & I will make more as soon as I get the proper size. I not only wrapped mine with cheesecloth which I had on hand because I do a lot of canning, and parchment paper, but I also wrapped it with foil after the parchment paper to keep it moist & fresh. I will use this recipe again using a 'fruitcake mix' that I purchase in the store just because it is easier than measuring out each of the fruit ingredients individulally. I love drinking coffee with it. I also made the other "Fruitcake" w 52 reviews at 'All recipes' as well last year and it 'flopped' for me, however, I am going to give both of these fruitcakes another try asap. If you compare the ingredients you will see the other fruitcake had a lot more flour, and I noticed the difference and how small this one was in comparison FYI. The other was the size of a 'standard' fruitcake, whereas this one was not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda the Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Marcos, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
I love this cake. I've received a number of compliments on it as well. We have it all year and use whatever dried fruit we fancy. (I omit candied fruit though.) I prefer to use brandy instead of the rum, though I've had success with both. I also tend to add extra spices such as nutmeg and ginger. Always a great cake. I prefer it after at least a week of aging, though some members of the household sometimes sneak into it before. But if you can hide it away, do so as long as possible. It'll be worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Huron, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
I have been making this fruitcake for the past several years. Everyone loves it! Best after several weeks. Any mix of dried fruit is good. Cut the butter to a scant half cup (about 3/8 cup) as I found that the butter came out of the cake during baking. Very rummy. Keeps well for many weeks but only if you hide it and forget about it. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
Amazing! Used currants, cranberries, some blueberries, golden raisins, cherries, pecans and orange rind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Very easy recipe and simply delicious. Instead of a bake tin, I used a muffin tray to have mini fruit cakes. Very easy to serve and not crumbly as I don't need to slice it. Served with a small dollop of ice cream it's so beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JungleJee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kuching, Sarawak, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
I couldn't find any citron, so I skipped it. I also only had spiced rum (Sailor Jerry) so that's what I used. I also didn't know you were supposed to let fruitcake sit around for weeks/months before eating it... so I only had 7 weeks before Christmas to let it sit. Having said all that, the person I made it for said it was fantastic, and wants it again next year. For never having made fruitcake before, this was easy enough, and everyone enjoyed the taste. I think I'll make sure not to use spiced rum next time, though, because Sailor Jerry pretty much dominated the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moxie & mirth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by natzsm
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
I simply LOVE fruitcake and this fruitcake recipe is simply one of the best I have tried! I used dates, dried pineapple, dried mangoes, dried papaya, sultanas, dried cranberries, dried cherries and just a little bit of candied citron. A few things I did differently was to sprinkle the fruitcakes with brandy plus honey (equal amounts) instead of plain rum while they were still in the pans and I let them cool in the pans covered by a cheese cloth to trap in the steam. This I think made them really moist. I baked a couple of batches on November 1 and brushed the cakes with the brandy and honey every week for four weeks and let them mellow. Two days before Christmas, I glazed a few of the cakes with a mixture of pineapple juice and corn syrup which I boiled and simmered till thick and sticky. This was also the time I decorated the tops with some walnuts and additional dates. I purposely omitted adding any nuts into the cake mixture because I was planning to save one or two of the cakes and let it continue to age for Christmas 2012 but at the rate the cakes are disappearing, I doubt if the five cakes I made will make it through the New Year. Wow, they were so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by natzsm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Makati, National Capital Region, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Smells delicious can't wait until it's done curing so we can finally taste it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cgrims

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Christmas Fruitcake

This light, delicious fruitcake features dried, not candied, fruit.

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Hot Spiced Christmas Wine

Treat your winter guests to a hot cup of holiday cheer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States