Christmas Fruitcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
I made several cakes from this recipe for Christmas. I alloed them to age for 7 weeks. I had a tester that I would slice into each week to evaluate the flavor. I soaked the fruit in rum for a few days and brushed the finished cake with rum before wrapping it tightly in saran wrap and aluminum foil. I did not have to continually brush the cake as others stated. I left them in a very cool room inside o aluminum tins and they remained moist for the entire 7 weeks. Although the cake can stand on it's own, I did make an almond glaze to spread on top of it. I pretty much stuck to the original recipe; I did ground up almonds and added a 2 tbl spoons to the floor mixture. I used slightly less than the amount of molasses ( I had grandma molasses and they are very dark and strong); And I used an array of dried fruit as well as nuts. Thank you for posting this recipe. It will be my goto fruit cake recipe from now on. I have a ton of dried fruit left over and plan on making several cakes and store them for a year just to see how that will affect the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
This made the best fruitcake I have ever eaten. Perfect mix of fruits and cake. Complex flavors. Better than the fruitcake my mom made when I was a kid. I am making a double batch next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
My first Xmas cake and it came out great. Just use different fruits. My husband do not like fruit cake and he loves it. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
This will be the third year in a row my father has asked for a fruitcake and the last recipe I will try as this was the best so far. I doubled the recipe and it made 3 small bread loaf (6X3) pans. The changes I made were mostly associated with the fruit choices and alcohol. We don't drink alcohol so I soaked the fruits in orange juice. I HONESTLY think any fruit will work, so I chose dried apricots, prunes, a few raisins and cut up frozen cherries. Instead of the citron (gross) I simply used grated orange peel and grated lemon peel. I also soaked those in the juice so they would soften. It has cooled down enough to try and it is moist with a nice flavor with the fruit adding a bit of sweetness. I don't plan on letting it sit much longer. We will eat ours and I will store my dad's in the fridge until Christmas next week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
i made the fruit cake and it was very good but a little dry should I wrap back in cheese cloth soak with burbon?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
OMG. I made this today and even the crumbs were wonderful! Made a double batch which gave me 6 mini loaf pans which took @ 45 minutes. (could be my oven). Only change I made was adding in raisins, plums and dates (all my favs). I'm. Going to make another batch tomorrow with brandy&apple cider infused fruit. Can't wait. Thanks for. a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Taylor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Delicious!! This coming from a hate fruitcake girl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
It's great.. in one word. The only thing that I did not like was how small a portion this recipe makes. Given how fast the cake disappears, I would start with at least the double of this. I did make some changes - like i used orange peels and apricots instead of citrons and cherries just because we like those better. I dont think it matters as long as you keep teh quantity of fruit approx the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I tried this for Christmas and it was simply wonderful. Moist and with a punch. Got rave reviews and my cousins have asked me to bake more! I could not get molasses to I had to use treacle and I omitted the citron but I've never had a more beautiful cake :) Thank you P.S: I have one stored away for Feb when we have visitors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I guess I'm not sure why this recipe is so popular. I used an egg replacer and it rose fine, but the molasses is so strong that it ruined it for me. It's almost like a strong Boston Brown Bread. I will say it was easy but I'm not giving this one to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Christmas Fruitcake

This light, delicious fruitcake features dried, not candied, fruit.

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Hot Spiced Christmas Wine

Treat your winter guests to a hot cup of holiday cheer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States