Christmas Fruitcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Tried this for the first time over the holidays and it was absolutely delicious and the cake was nice and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alla Poniatovskaia
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
Great recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alla Poniatovskaia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Delicious! My first attempt at making fruitcake and it was a hit w/ everyone. I used a mix of raisins, figs, candied cherries, cranberries, and dried pineapple. Mine only got to sit for about 1 week, but it was still yummy! I also made one that wasn't soaked in rum after baking (for my son), and I liked that even better, but hubby and my dad like the rum soaked cake the best. I will def be making this every Christmas from now on~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
Tried the 1st time and it brought to pieces. Am gonna try again tomoro . Bless me... It tasted nice though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
This cake is excellent! When finished the cake is moist, not overpowered by the fruit and keeps for a long time too. If you like a darker fruit cake, add 1 teaspoon of browning or more molasses. You can also soak your fruit in orange juice if you don't want the alcohol and the cake is just as delicious. Don't be afraid to add more fruit if you like, it will not spoil the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
This recipe was fantastic! I loved the way it tasted and it succeeded in filling my belly! Those are really the only two things i enjoy in life so your bread brought me much happiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonobos Marcos

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
Wow! Glad I taste-tested this before giving it away! The molasses is AWFUL! Now I have to make more...cutting back on the molasses and substituting Karo corn syrup for some of it...most of it actually...and adding no more rum than what is used to soak the fruit. Fingers Xed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Parker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Monica, California, USA
Living In: Inverness, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
Wait 7 weeks?? What? Not in my house! It was GONE the next day! To be fair, I had some left over rum soaked dried fruits already ready to go. I used coconut oil and maple syrup/molasses mix, no brown sugar. I had to add a bit more flour (not much at all) and Voila! I am making another batch this morning and it will be gone by tonight! Christmas in Spring!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
WOW this is the best ever....I double the recipe and just tried the 1st one and all I can say is this is the BEST- I can't wait to try the other 2 - one in June and the other in August..... Making more for gifts....YES it is that GOOD :-) now I am going to kitchen to make more so I have plenty to give as gifts for my rum loving friends :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Nice recipe but still too moist after 45 min so added 10. Used Maple syrup instead of molasses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Christmas Fruitcake

This light, delicious fruitcake features dried, not candied, fruit.

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Hot Spiced Christmas Wine

Treat your winter guests to a hot cup of holiday cheer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States