Christmas Fruitcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Thanks Karen for sharing this fantastic recipe. All my friends and I ( ofcourse) could not stop eating it....yum yum..... The only change I made was I used corn syrup instead of molasses and dismissed the candied citron. Thanks again! I will make it again for next year Xmas and will double the amount :-). Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
This flavorful cake will be a marvelous edition to my Christmas baking from here on out. It was WELL RECEIVED by everyone who sampled it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
This is only the third year I've made fruitcake, and this is the first time I've used this recipe. It's different than the one I've used the past 2 years; it's seems a little less heavy, for starters. I substituted apricots for the mango, golden raisins for the currents (couldn't find either of the those ingredients). I omitted the citron since I couldn't find it in the store, but I added the zest of one orange. I used spiced rum--it tastes better to me. Of course, I won't know for a couple months how this tastes, but it looked good coming out of the oven, smelled great, and the little bit I snuck off the top tasted pretty good! Give it awhile to blend flavors, YUM! Can't wait! Glad I doubled the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABYDANE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temecula, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
Tastes just like the fruit cake from Assumption Abbey that William Sonoma used to sell. I would put more liquor in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
No store-bought fruitcake can compare to this! I made enough to give as gifts, and now it's all anyone wants from me! Even people who "hated" fruitcake loved this recipe, and I'm planning on making it again this year, times 8 or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: River Falls, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Monterey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
this recipe is great! I started making it 2 years ago and now I'm getting orders from impatient friends who are having trouble waiting till x-mas. the only thing I changed is I refuse to put any of that yucky citron in it. what a great recipe !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
I could not stop eatting this...I like fruit cake, but I loved this recipe...I soaked it in white wine instead of rum though and it gave it a great flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
Karen, thanks for standing up for fruitcake!! Indeed, this is nothing like the heavy brick of fruitcake that comes in a cardboard box. I've found that the best way to get people to try this delicious cake is to not tell them it's a fruitcake. Call it cake or molasses cake or gingerbread or whatever. Once they try it, you can admit the truth-- it's fun to watch the reactions. The only significant change I'd suggest to this fabulous recipe is to let sit for longer if you can. If you can make the cake a year in advance, do so. Just store it per the recipe and add a bit rum every month or so, and you'll be treated to an amazing dessert when the time is right. Anyone who enjoys this recipe should also consider making Simnel cake, typically served at Eastertime. It's a different sort of fruitcake, made with marzipan, and equally delicious. Additionally, I'd suggest substituting Demerara sugar for brown sugar, if possible. Demerara sugar isn't much more expensive, and it's often found in regular grocery stores next to the other sugars. It is a light brown sugar with larger crystals, and it provides a stickier texture and a really rich aroma.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABoston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tifton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Manhattan Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
Very tasty! This was my first attempt at a fruitcake so I was quite anxious to unvail it and try it after it's 10 weeks of resting. Wow, is it good! I respected the recipe in it's measurements but did mess around a bit with the ingredients themselves only because I live in France and certain items are not readily available, like dried mango and dried cranberries. I did have dried cherries on hand and I added dried apricots in place of the mango. I also swaped walnuts for the pecans, once again an availability issue. But the recipe lends itself nicely to these kinds of modifications. It slices best if chilled a bit, then be sure to use a sharp knife. It's not a "pretty" cake but a plate with thin slices nicely arranged accompanied by a pot of strong coffee is a moment to remember! Merry Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Biarritz, Aquitaine, France
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
I make this every year. It is by far the best recipe I have ever found. I can't always find the dried fruit that it calls for and instead use 3/4 c. of what ever mixed dried fruit that I can find. This definately gets better with age, if it lasts that long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Christmas Fruitcake

This light, delicious fruitcake features dried, not candied, fruit.

Hot Spiced Christmas Wine

Treat your winter guests to a hot cup of holiday cheer.

Chef John’s Christmas Miracle Fudge

See how to make rich, amazing fudge with no dairy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States