Christmas Fruitcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2001
This cake is wonderful. It is everything it was promised to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Syd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Arthur, Texas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2001
I loved this recipe. I made it several years ago to give as gift. I made then in mini loaf pans and gave them out. Everyone ranted about of moist they were. The cakes were so good that when I lost teh recipe I came back here looking for it a full 2 years later. Great Job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2001
This Christmas cake is absolutely wonderful. I've made several, have substituted the mango with Papaya, raisins, etc. and it still turns out perfect. This is the best all around fruit cake I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2003
I made this fruitcake twice because I made a major mistake the first time, inadvertently using all of the rum in the batter rather than half. The second time I used the correct amount of rum, and cut the butter from 8 tablespoons to 2 tablespoons and cut both the molasses and milk in half. I also added 1/4 teaspoon of baking powder. The cakes rose nicely and weren't nearly as greasy as the first time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
I doubled the recipe to make a 9.5X3 round. I used whetver fruit I had on hand(walnuts,cranberries,raisins,currants and golden raisins). I did not think mango would quite go with cake. I soaked the fruit in Apricot flavoured brandy instead of rum for 3 days and used 4 cups of that (doubled the original recipe). Did not have molasses on hand so substituted honey. Next time I am going to try adding some treacle as well for the color and deep flavor. I made this cake for my mom-in-law's birthday. Topped it with lightly sweetened whipped cream which was a nice contrast to the dense cake and garnished it with orange slices. Everybody LOVED it. The cake turned out to be rich,moist and delicious. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nasik, Maharashtra, India
Living In: Sterling, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
This is a really good fruitcake recipe using some more exotic fruits. I doubled the recipe though to make a good sized family cake, and yes, it is just like my English wedding cake. Just a little tip though, if you are going to ice this cake and want a nice flat top, make a dip in the middle of the mixture as you put it in the tin. Then it will rise to a level instead of having a hump on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Battle, Sussex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
I cannot fairly rate this because I used way too much rum. I think if I would have only used the 1/4 cup that was called for, it would have been great. I also used heaping measurements of the fruit and nuts. This is a good recipe for DARK fruitcake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cassarugh
Home Town: Florence, Alabama, USA
Living In: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
My family loved this recipe. We had planned to let it sit the customary week or longer but it didn't even last an hour. It was great but I would double or maybe triple it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Petal, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
My favorite fruit cake recipe!!! Very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Diana Moutsopoulos
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
Okay, so far I've only sneaked one bite, but I can already say that this cake is divine! I made it today after soaking the fruit for only 15 hours. I think 15 hours was just fine, as all of the alcohol had been absorbed. Also, I used Grand Marnier to soak the fruit in, simply b/c I had forgotten to buy dark rum. I quadrupled the recipe and used a variety of pans and dishes - from a small loaf pan to a few ramekins. Baking time varied from about 40mins for the smaller ramekins to 1 hour for the loaf pan. I still need to get the rum, so the cakes are waiting until tomorrow, when I'll sprinkle on the rum and wrap in cheesecloth and parchment. I can say that I won't be ageing the cakes for 10 weeks as called for in the recipe, but I am definitely planning on ageing them for a few weeks until I ice them and send them to friends and family as gifts. I'll post an update then. But I can already say this cake is superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana Moutsopoulos

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Christmas Fruitcake

This light, delicious fruitcake features dried, not candied, fruit.

Hot Spiced Christmas Wine

Treat your winter guests to a hot cup of holiday cheer.

Chef John’s Christmas Miracle Fudge

See how to make rich, amazing fudge with no dairy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States