Christmas Eve Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2003
I'm not a big stew fan, but this recipe is fantastic! I used my slow cooker for this recipe. At the suggestion of others, I also doubled the amount of seasoning. During the last hour of cooking, I added a package of Knorr brand brown gravy mix. The result was terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2003
Went ahead and used my slow cooker for this...worked very well and was tasty. Even my son enjoyed it....and asked for left-overs the next night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spencer, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2000
I made this recipe for a Holiday Supper that I hosted for my office - 16 people. Everyone raved!! I used a little more of the herbs than the recipe called for. I would definitely make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2002
Mmmm, mmmm, Good! Just put it in the crockpot and forget it. I'll be making this all winter. I doubled the spices required and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2003
This recipe was wonderful - everyone seconds! I too made it in a crock-pot (low 8 - 10 hours), and added a bay leaf. It needed additional thickener at the end - some flour/water mixture. The overall flavor was great. The wine adds richness. I'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2003
Very easy and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2003
Awesome! I used 3pounds of stew meat and didn't cut it into 1 inch pieces, some were bigger...some were almost 3 inches. I made it in the Crock pot for 8 hours on Low, added frozen corn along with the peas and added more wine (about 3/4 cup) since there was more meat. My husband told me this was the best Stew he has had in a long time, and also mentioned how the meat wasn't dry at all, I think keeping it in large chunks helped. I also added some flour at the end to thicken it a bit (Mixed it with some of the beef stew liquid) Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2003
This was a great stew! easy to make and I used the crockpot as well,thought it was to many onions, but other than that great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2003
GREAT! I also went with double seasonings. Also added salt to taste. The brown gravy mix at the end is a great addition! Will make often...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belzoni, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2003
I followed the suggestion of others -- used the crock pot and doubled the spices. Since my husband and I aren't big fans of potato chunks in stews, I omitted them but put a scoop of mashed potatoes in the bottom of our bowls and then poured the stew on top of the potatoes -- still had the flavor of the potatoes, plus the mashed potatoes helped with the extra liquid. This recipe has replaced mine as
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States