Christmas Eve Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2000
My husband absolutely loved this recipe!! I made it in the crock pot. I would use a little more spice next time but other than that it was delicious. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIENNES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Paramus, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2000
I made this recipe for a Holiday Supper that I hosted for my office - 16 people. Everyone raved!! I used a little more of the herbs than the recipe called for. I would definitely make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2002
Mmmm, mmmm, Good! Just put it in the crockpot and forget it. I'll be making this all winter. I doubled the spices required and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2002
Definitely "a keeper"! We did have this Christmas Eve, and we will the next, and the next... Family traditions make for wonderful memories. Thanks for helping me add to ours!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2002
We loved the wine & stewed tomatoe...a really great change Annette Jensen -Canada
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2002
This is sooooooo good! Just the right amount of wine, absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2002
I made this today in the crockpot (8 hours on low) and had it waiting when my husband and I got home from church....What a treat! He tends to be reserved with his compliments, so his enthusiastic "This is great stuff!" was practically gushing! :) I'll definitely make this over and over again. I actually made half the recipe, but doubled the original spice amounts and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2002
This recipe was a little bland although it has potential. This is a good base for a stew however, I think it needs a little doctoring up for enhanced flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri St

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Pitt Meadows, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2003
This recipe was wonderful - everyone seconds! I too made it in a crock-pot (low 8 - 10 hours), and added a bay leaf. It needed additional thickener at the end - some flour/water mixture. The overall flavor was great. The wine adds richness. I'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2003
I'm not a big stew fan, but this recipe is fantastic! I used my slow cooker for this recipe. At the suggestion of others, I also doubled the amount of seasoning. During the last hour of cooking, I added a package of Knorr brand brown gravy mix. The result was terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States