Christmas Eve Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2005
This is yummy stew - I like lots of meat so I doubled that part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Snohomish, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2005
When I made this for the group I cook for, and they loved it. The meat was flavorful and easy for me. I put all of it in a roaster put in 200 degree oven and it is ready by 5:30, and I could get everything else done that needed to be done for the day without worrying about stopping to fix dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
We were NOT impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
this was tasty but sort of thin. I used the crockpot (which was FULL) instead of regular oven and would recommend to cut the water in half. You can always add if it is a little thick, but the liquid that comes from cooking vegetables in a crockpot will make it just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
This was just okay- not great but not bad. The only thing I changed was that I doubled the spices and added some crushed bay leaves, and it still was too bland for my taste. The meat tasted the best after cooking for so long. I might try again with more spices, or even adding an onion soup packet instead of the onions to liven it up a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2004
Makes a LOT! I will make this again but next time only a half recipe. I didn't have enough tapioca so it was not quite thick enough for my tastes - shoul dhave mashed one potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2004
Very good and easy to throw together. No fuss! I cooked mine in the oven at 200 for about 8 hours. Everything was well cooked. I also added more herbs and changed mine to thyme, bay leaf, and parsley. Because I didn't have tapioca, I followed the suggestion of another review and used barley (about 1/4 cup). I loved the barley and mine wasn't watery at all. I will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRISHICAT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Martinsville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Clifton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2004
This was wonderful. I substituted low sodium beef broth for the water and a little extra pepper. The beef was tender and perfect even after about 8-10 hours in the crock pot. My parents drove in Thanksgiving eve and it was the perfect meal for a cold Colorado night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2004
After 12 years of marriage, I finally found a great beef stew recipe! My son loved it too. I did all the things everyone said to do. The only thing was that after six hours in the oven, the potatoes were not soft so I cooked it an extra hour at 350.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2004
This was good. I added double the spices and a bay leaf. I also added 1/2 cup of red wine and a packet of gravy mix. As well, I didn't add the tapioca but instead used barley. I cooked it in my slow cooker on high for 5 hours and it came out great. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATWALK16

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

Displaying results 81-90 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States