Christmas Eve Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
I make this in the slow cooker following the recipe exactly, and it is always delicious. My family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
I made the following adjustments: - Floured and browned the beef first - Rinsed the browning pan with the wine and 1 cup water (only used half the water since using a crock pot) - Layered the veggies in the bottom, meat on top, held the spices and bouillon back, cooked on low - crumbled the bouillon and spices into the pot 2 hours before serving. Crushed the spices between my fingers to release flavor, used 1/2 tsp of each. - Added 2 bay leaves and a lightly heaping tablespoon of cornstarch. Wound up a little thin but acceptably so to my tastes. Very flavorful. Keeping the bouillon back towards the end will help keep your meat moist; the sodium draws moisture out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
207 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
Overall, this recipe is really good. I had to add some spices to it, and cut down on the onions. I just thought 3 was too many for our taste. My husband loves it, and asked me to make it two weeks in a row! I made it with the Baked Corn http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Baked-Corn/Detail.aspx recipe on this site. Perfect combination! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
This was a great recipe for a different taste than I am used to. I love the can tomatoes and herbs used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
This recipe was okay but bland. Needed to add lots of seasonings to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Ramer-Bozzo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
The kids liked it a lot, but it needed much more seasoning. I tried it a second time in a pressure cooker (super fast!) and added about 1/4 tsp red pepper flake and used fresh rosemary and thyme and cut the water to 1/2 cup for the pressure cooker. . . very nice and very quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
Delicious!!!My family loved it. We will definitely be making it again. I cut the recipe in half and found that the next time I will use the 1 pound of beef and add more vegetables. I also cooked this in a crock pot all day. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa A.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntley, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
Good Stew, I also doubled the seasoning, used 1/2 red wine, omitted the peas,only 1 sml can of stewed tomatoes because that's all I had so instead I used some of tomato sauce, I only put 1 cup of water in the stew and it was still a little watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2006
This was very good! I added a tablespoon of butter to each bowl of stew. Wonderful.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamra Scott-Hunt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2005
3 onions were way too much. Also turned out a little watery despite I added a brown gravy packet. I also doubled the spices and used 1/2 cup red wine. The stew was delicious, but will definitely use 1 onion last time and maybe some barley to thicken the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States