Christmas Eve Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
Dan added salt and pepper for more flavor I really enjoyed the homestyle cooking. Would definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
I read this recipe in a Christmas novel submitted by it's author years ago and have used it since. My kids grew up on it and love it. My sister and I used to make this while on vacation in her crock pot. It's that easy and delish! I recomend this reciipe 100%! Just put everything in crock, stir and walk away. Dinner will be ready when you are. No mess. This recipe will stay in our family forever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Harvey Jellison Melton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cream Ridge, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
We thought this stew was wonderful. We don't like a thick pasty stew so we thought it was perfect. Didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southborough, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Narragansett, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
Excellent recipe. I love spices so added a lot of extra spice to the dish. Also, I floured and browned the meat before adding it to the cockpot. I also used a pork and beef combo for the stew meat. Added the Knorr's brown gravy mix the last hour, and it was the perfect consistency. Next time I will add mushrooms as recommended by another reviewer. I served in round sour dough bread bowls. Yummy!! I would have given it 5 stars, but had to read all the reviews first and then modified it accordingly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FASTPITCHSHARK1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milpitas, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
I made several adjustments to this recipe, to accommodate what I had on hand, and preferences. I added 1/2 chopped green bell pepper, skipped the tapioca (as I was afraid it would provide a strange consistency), used 1 15oz. can petite diced tomatoes & 1 15oz. can stewed tomatoes, used beef broth for the water and bouillon, used 1 tsp. Italian seasoning (though next time I would double that) and 1 tsp. montreal steak seasoning, then skipped the red wine altogether. I cooked in a slow cooker for 2 hours on high heat, then reduced to low for 5 hours. The meat was very tender and the broth was very rich. However, it did seem to be lacking in herb flavor. I may try it next time with the Knorr brown gravy packet as another reviewer suggested. I also plan on using 1 8oz. can of tomato sauce for half the broth/water next time. Overall, good recipe, hubby *loved* it, but it could definitely use more seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
good basic recipe. i also thickened it and added more seasoning and veggies (peas,more carrots and potato also chopped prunes (husband's family trad.)and i used garlic flavored oil to brown meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Griswold, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Jonesboro, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
Okay,I really did not think this was anything special, tasty definitely but...my family LOVED it! There were not any left-overs. ALL GONE. I used fresh herbs instead of dried. I added a touch of red pepper flakes because we like it spicy. And I did have to thicken it with cornstarch at the end. its a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SavvyTech
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
This recipe turned out very flavorful. I didn't follow the suggestions of other viewers and I should have, because they were right, the stew turns out very runny more like a soup. I prefer a thicker stew so I added a little corn starch to the stew and it thickened right up. Delicious! I will make this again and again. My family loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SavvyTech

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lynnwood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2007
First of all, this isn't what I would call beef stew like I'm used to having. The stew I'm used to having has a really thick hearty sauce, this was rather watery. However, that aside..... I made this recipe to the letter, and actually fudged a bit on the spices. I doubled at least the amount of all of them. I also added in 4 chopped cloves of garlic. I can describe it in one word...bland!!! I can eat it with a *lot* of salt and pepper, but it just tastes like beef and vegetables. The only good thing is that the beef ended up very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
Mmmmm...good :) I think it was the tapioca that added that little extra "something".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States