Christmas Eve Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by It's A New Day
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
I am the original submitter of this recipe and just made this stew for Christmas Eve after a long hiatus. Please make the recipe as is. I've always made it in the crock pot and it turns out perfectly. It is stew not soup. It does not need additional moisture. The original recipe did include 1 T salt, and 1 T sugar and freshly ground black pepper. I usually toss everything into a crock pot except the peas and let it cook all day on low. Then toss in the frozen peas about 30 minutes before serving. It is not a real juicy or tomato-y stew but is what we prefer. This year I tried cutting the meat into smaller cubes, dusting with flour and browning before adding to crock pot. I really don't think it made any difference. I would go back to just tossing the meat into the crock pot raw. Tapioca is the thickening agent and works just fine without the flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
This stew is yummy!! I want to make it even when its now Christmas!!! What do i use as a side dish for it?? Bread or something??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
A perfect dish for the winter! If you make this ahead of time, it tastes even better the next day! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ThompsonFamily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
I accidentally put the peas in right away and they were fine. I also decreased the water by a 1/2 cup and added a bit of flour at the end to thicken it, but it was totally awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RuralWanderer

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Had to leave out the peas because my slow cooker is too small at 4 quarts - everything else filled it to the rim. My 5 y.o. asked for seconds and cleaned his bowl twice, which never happens unless sugar is involved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
This was pretty bland and watery. I had to add additional spices and double the amount of flour/corn starch to get the consistency I wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Try doubling the seasonsings
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffani Peoples
Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Need more spices-ketcup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lulubelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I made this for my families Christmas meal. It was really pretty good. I browned the meat in some flour then put everything into the crock pot. Easy to make and everyone liked it. I only gave it 4 stars cuz I thought it could have used a bit more seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Very good stew!! I made a few changes that made this very similar to Cracker Barrell's beef stew that I love!! This calls for a lot of onions, so I reduced it to only one and a half chopped onions, added two bay leaves, added a few dashes of worcestershire sauce, I used fresh thyme and rosemary and did not add the marjoram. I used all the water called for. I omited the tapioca and used cornstarch to thicken it up. This stew is definately a keeper!! Will use again and again. Thx for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela W

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States