Christmas Eve Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
We've used this recipe in our family for three generations, starting with my grandmother. My 15-y-o daughter loves this also and she's not a 'stew' girl, preferring fast food or my 'chinese orange chicken' stir-fry. This is an American Family Classic in our home, we use this throughout the winter season - so warm and nourishing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lomita, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
I have never made a beef stew before, but always wanted to. I found this recipe, read all of the reviews, followed a couple of suggestions from previous reviewers, and loved it! I am currently making it again. We do not like tomatoes, so I used 1 14 oz can of stewed tomatoes and 1 14 oz can of tomato sauce. I did flour and brown the meat ahead of time, and I layered it all in the crock pot, leaving the spices out. I added the spices in about 2 hours before serving. I also added frozen corn and green beans in. I add the peas, corn and green beans in about 2 hours prior to serving as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
I hate to be the one to give this recipe 2 star, but I will explain. I mede it exactly as it is written, and at six hours into cooking, the meat was done, though tough, the veggies were not fully cooked/stil slightly crunchy, it was very bland, and the base was extremely thin and watery. I came back here and took a good look at the reviews and found the problem. Most people changed the recipe. Anyway, I salvaged it by doing most of the stuff listed, turning the oven up to 300 and cooking it for 3 more hours. Then it was very good, but also extremely annoying, especially eating dinner at 9:30. Please, people, stop rating recipes that you have drastically altered and changed. It is very misleading.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
Very Good.. YUmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheelara
Home Town: Leeds, Alabama, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Had it last night - my father in law had seconds! - A first!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Candiac, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Real good stew recipe. I was wondering what the tapioca would do to stew.. but really it just made the broth a bit thicker. I did add about 1 cup of corn to the recipe. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
Made this according to recipe (even with the peas-- I was skeptical), except that I simmered it on the stovetop. Husband and children gave it a thumbs-up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
Simple to make and the best beef stew ever. Kids love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OROSI RILEY

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
We made a modified version of this on our last camping trip. Cubed the meat from a 7-bone roast then seasoned/floured & browned in our camp dutch oven along with the onion & 2 garlic cloves. Forgot about the canned tomatoes, used italian seasoning blend (don't keep to many spices in the trailer), added the veggies an hour into cooking time & cooked another 45 minutes. Vented the lid for the last 30 minutes & no need for tapioca. This was super tasty, rich, thick & oh so comforting on a cool evening in the great outdoors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BudsGurls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Tried this and it was very easy and a wonderful way to use the veggies from the garden. It was nice to put it in the oven and forget about it for a few hours. My husband loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States