Christmas Eve Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
I'm not usually a big fan of Beef Stew, but this recipe sounded really good. I served it Christmas night and my family ate it up! I did thicken it with some potato pearls right before serving as we were using bread bowls and I didn't want it to leak through the bowl. I probably won't make it again for myself because I prefer to eat vegetarian dishes (the meat was expensive!), but I won't hesitate to make it for a family gathering. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
I have made this stew 10+ times and my husband and I both enjoy it very much. I flour and brown the meat. I cook the petite baby carrots in the microwave for 3 minutes to give them a head start, then into the crockpot. Then I add canned diced potatoes (1 can drained), 1/2 cup celery, 1 cup onions and the tomatoes. Meat goes on top, then 1/2 cup water and 1/2 cup Merlot wine. Set on low 8 hours. At 7 1/2 hours I add seasonings,frozen peas, frozen corn and powdered gravy mix (stir). I serve with salad and rolls. Thanks for the starter recipe and all the added suggestions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
I have a allrecipes hardcover cookbook with this recipe, and it does say add 2 cups of water, while here, water is not mentioned. Big disconnect. Also in the cookbook did NOT state to cover the pan which I thought was incorrect. I made this once, covering the pan adding only a cup of water but 2 cups of red wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warrenville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
This was absolutely delicious!!! I changed it up a bit though! I actually chopped up about four cloves of garlic and added some finely chopped red and green bell pepper to the onion and celery mix, which I sautéed in some butter until opaque! I added some chopped up parsnips and a small turnip to the carrots and potatoes! I served it with hot buttered egg noodles with some freshly chopped parsley on top! This was more delicious then any stew I ever had anywhere! My roommate ate three huge bowls of it and fell in love!!! Cutie Pie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
This is good any time when the weather is cold. Long cooking time makes the meat fork tender! however... 1. Recipe needs salt 2. I used a bit more meat. 3. Like some other posters, my instinct was to brown the meat in some fat, but I didn't, maybe next time. 4. I used a very big, heavy skillet with a tight-fitting lid 5. I used regular tomatoes, not stewed 6. I did not thaw the peas and recommend that you don't 7. most importantly, instead of boullion cubes, I used 2 teaspoons of "Better Than Boullion" paste and two cups of vegetable stock. The extra liquid was very helpful, and in fact I don't think it would have worked for me otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by della206

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Polson, Montana, USA
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Best recipe !!!!!So good .Spices just right.Had 1/2 pkg dried onion soup to use up,so threw that in,The wine was merlot.Good sized chunks of carrot and less onion( due to soup mix).Used cornstarch&water to thicken as I lost my tapioca!!!A great recipe to add or subtract what you have on hand.Slow cooker 5-6 hrs.A winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Wonderful! I followed the recipe as it said but I also used flour and browned meat and held off using the beef soup base for 3 hours
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty Fleeson King

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baden, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
I didn't have marjoram, so I substituted sweet basil. I would definitely recommend another's reviewer's advice and double the spices, as it was a bit bland. This makes A LOT of stew! I did add brown gravy mix at the end when I added the peas as the gravy was more of an au jus at that point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
I know some people are saying they cut back on the water - there is no water in this recipe, and it doesn't need it. I followed it exactly and it was so good!!!! Give it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susabelle
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Amazing! Best beef stew I've tasted! After reading all the reviews and revisions, I went with the recipe as written - no modifications. In the oven, exactly as written. It was/is perfect as written. Thickness is appropriate for stew - very thick. Vegetables and meat were perfect - not tough, not mushy. I'll be the first to admit that I'm not a super-skilled cook, but I do ok. I've traveled a lot and know good food; it was great to produce really good food! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States