Christmas Eve Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
I have made this stew 10+ times and my husband and I both enjoy it very much. I flour and brown the meat. I cook the petite baby carrots in the microwave for 3 minutes to give them a head start, then into the crockpot. Then I add canned diced potatoes (1 can drained), 1/2 cup celery, 1 cup onions and the tomatoes. Meat goes on top, then 1/2 cup water and 1/2 cup Merlot wine. Set on low 8 hours. At 7 1/2 hours I add seasonings,frozen peas, frozen corn and powdered gravy mix (stir). I serve with salad and rolls. Thanks for the starter recipe and all the added suggestions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
I have a allrecipes hardcover cookbook with this recipe, and it does say add 2 cups of water, while here, water is not mentioned. Big disconnect. Also in the cookbook did NOT state to cover the pan which I thought was incorrect. I made this once, covering the pan adding only a cup of water but 2 cups of red wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warrenville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
This was absolutely delicious!!! I changed it up a bit though! I actually chopped up about four cloves of garlic and added some finely chopped red and green bell pepper to the onion and celery mix, which I sautéed in some butter until opaque! I added some chopped up parsnips and a small turnip to the carrots and potatoes! I served it with hot buttered egg noodles with some freshly chopped parsley on top! This was more delicious then any stew I ever had anywhere! My roommate ate three huge bowls of it and fell in love!!! Cutie Pie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
This is good any time when the weather is cold. Long cooking time makes the meat fork tender! however... 1. Recipe needs salt 2. I used a bit more meat. 3. Like some other posters, my instinct was to brown the meat in some fat, but I didn't, maybe next time. 4. I used a very big, heavy skillet with a tight-fitting lid 5. I used regular tomatoes, not stewed 6. I did not thaw the peas and recommend that you don't 7. most importantly, instead of boullion cubes, I used 2 teaspoons of "Better Than Boullion" paste and two cups of vegetable stock. The extra liquid was very helpful, and in fact I don't think it would have worked for me otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by della206

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Polson, Montana, USA
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Best recipe !!!!!So good .Spices just right.Had 1/2 pkg dried onion soup to use up,so threw that in,The wine was merlot.Good sized chunks of carrot and less onion( due to soup mix).Used cornstarch&water to thicken as I lost my tapioca!!!A great recipe to add or subtract what you have on hand.Slow cooker 5-6 hrs.A winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Wonderful! I followed the recipe as it said but I also used flour and browned meat and held off using the beef soup base for 3 hours
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty Fleeson King

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baden, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
I didn't have marjoram, so I substituted sweet basil. I would definitely recommend another's reviewer's advice and double the spices, as it was a bit bland. This makes A LOT of stew! I did add brown gravy mix at the end when I added the peas as the gravy was more of an au jus at that point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
I know some people are saying they cut back on the water - there is no water in this recipe, and it doesn't need it. I followed it exactly and it was so good!!!! Give it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susabelle
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Amazing! Best beef stew I've tasted! After reading all the reviews and revisions, I went with the recipe as written - no modifications. In the oven, exactly as written. It was/is perfect as written. Thickness is appropriate for stew - very thick. Vegetables and meat were perfect - not tough, not mushy. I'll be the first to admit that I'm not a super-skilled cook, but I do ok. I've traveled a lot and know good food; it was great to produce really good food! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Very easy and extremely delicious, will definitely make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States