Christmas Eve Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2003
I'm not a big stew fan, but this recipe is fantastic! I used my slow cooker for this recipe. At the suggestion of others, I also doubled the amount of seasoning. During the last hour of cooking, I added a package of Knorr brand brown gravy mix. The result was terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2003
Awesome! I used 3pounds of stew meat and didn't cut it into 1 inch pieces, some were bigger...some were almost 3 inches. I made it in the Crock pot for 8 hours on Low, added frozen corn along with the peas and added more wine (about 3/4 cup) since there was more meat. My husband told me this was the best Stew he has had in a long time, and also mentioned how the meat wasn't dry at all, I think keeping it in large chunks helped. I also added some flour at the end to thicken it a bit (Mixed it with some of the beef stew liquid) Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2003
Very easy and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2003
GREAT! I also went with double seasonings. Also added salt to taste. The brown gravy mix at the end is a great addition! Will make often...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belzoni, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2000
I made this recipe for a Holiday Supper that I hosted for my office - 16 people. Everyone raved!! I used a little more of the herbs than the recipe called for. I would definitely make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2002
Mmmm, mmmm, Good! Just put it in the crockpot and forget it. I'll be making this all winter. I doubled the spices required and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2003
This recipe was wonderful - everyone seconds! I too made it in a crock-pot (low 8 - 10 hours), and added a bay leaf. It needed additional thickener at the end - some flour/water mixture. The overall flavor was great. The wine adds richness. I'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2003
Went ahead and used my slow cooker for this...worked very well and was tasty. Even my son enjoyed it....and asked for left-overs the next night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spencer, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2003
This was a great stew! easy to make and I used the crockpot as well,thought it was to many onions, but other than that great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2003
I followed the suggestion of others -- used the crock pot and doubled the spices. Since my husband and I aren't big fans of potato chunks in stews, I omitted them but put a scoop of mashed potatoes in the bottom of our bowls and then poured the stew on top of the potatoes -- still had the flavor of the potatoes, plus the mashed potatoes helped with the extra liquid. This recipe has replaced mine as
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States