Christmas Eve Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
I chose this dish for the first meal I have ever prepared in a crock pot. This stew is to die for. The only changes I made were to double the spices and flour and brown the meat. The consistency was perfect for us, but I may try adding the gravy next time like others have suggested. I'll be making this for my family often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
Very good recipe. My kid's and husband loved it!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
Very good and perfect for the Crock Pot. I used one can of beef broth instead of water and bouillon cubes. And I did increase the spices. Left out the peas, just don't like those in beef stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
I used venison and duck instead of beef and dredged it in flour and browned it and placed everything in a slow cooker I also doubled the spices, I also added just about an 1/8 of a tsp of liquid smoke to it….Absolutely Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RESCUERANGER

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
yummmmmmmmmy!!!!!!!!! i added a can of diced tomatoes & a pinch of herb de provence & it was so good on a rainy day with some fresh buns!!! thickened it with cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
So so good. Had to thicken it at the end with a little cornstarch. Made this in the crockpot; REMEMBER: always add your spices in the last half hour when slow-cooking. Otherwise, the flavor cooks out and the result is bland. This was delicious, will be a favorite this winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
This recipe is fantastic and easy to make/follow. My children and husband ate it all up in one night. My ten year old son even said that it was "BANGING" lol. As suggested by other members I used the crockpot, doubled up on the seasoning, added two bay leafs, and used only half of the water. I usually do not follow recipes but did on this one and was very happily surprised. I've definitly found a beef stew recipe that I will follow and call my own from now on. Thanks everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
This worked out really well for me. I used organic beef broth in place of the water, added a couple bay leaves and added an envelope of aujus gravy mix. I also switched out the peas for corn. (The au jus mix was a stew secret ingredient I learned from my father in law for my own batch of stew. It's not really needed in this stew recipe, as I learned. My mistake, not the recipe.) Mine turned out a little salty but still delicious. I added a couple tablespoons of brown sugar, which tamed the salt. This recipe makes a lot so be sure you have a large and hungry brood or you'll have leftovers for days. I'll make this my go-to recipe for stew now. Thanks ever so much to the person who shared it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
Pretty good! I agree with everyone else--definitely double the spices, and add some thickener of some kind. I cooked mine in the crockpot (low, 8 hours). I omitted the celery and the peas, but that's just because we don't like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
Extremely tasty! I did not change a thing except coat my meat in flour and brown before adding. I used the slow cooker and layered it as follows: tomatoes, carrots, celery, potatoes, onions, meat. I added 1/2 cup water and 1/4 cup red wine and then cooked on high for 2 hours with no stirring. After 2 hours I began stirring about every 30 minutes and then 2 hours before serving, I added another 1/2 cup water and then the boullion and spices as another member said that the salt in the boullion draws moisture out of the meat if you add it at the beginning and she was right as the meat was nice and tender this way. Add peas 20 minutes before serving. This came out very thick and rich for me and I had to use no thickner, other than the flour coating on the meat. This is by far the best stew I have made. Oh, and I recommend pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
158 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States