Christmas Eve Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
Very good stew. Made in the crockpot I don't think it changed the integrity of the recipe. By accident used one can of tomato sauce and one can of stewed tomatoes , the stew came out fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam from L.I.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sound Beach, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
Excellent recipe,I followed other people's advice to flour and brown the meat before putting it in my crock pot and the meat came out juicy and tender and also added more vegetables than the recipe calls for, the whole family liked it! I'll be making it again many times. Thank you Maridele for sumitting your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lvmy2girls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
This was pretty good. Much much better than anything you can get from a mix, thats for sure! I made it in the crockpot on High for 6 hours, and everything was tender and delicious. Made a great dinner paired with the Amish Bread from this site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandon, South Dakota, USA
Living In: South Hadley, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
I love the colorfulness, I'm tired of bland brown stew, and it was quite tasty. I froze the meat in the wine and vegetable broth until I was ready to make this recipe, marinates while it thaws. I followed advice on adding the spices (along with salt and pepper) towards the end and cut the water in half since I used the crockpot (I actually used vegetable broth instead of water), turned out perfect, didn't need to thicken it at all. Served over a bed of egg noodles, simply delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
Terrific flavor. I skipped the peas as it didn't sound good and added some extra carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZANNEHENDRIX

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
The best stew I have ever made! Thanks. I followed the recipe, but also the comments of the reviewer for the crockpot method. It was very flavorful and thick. Delicious for the holidays when you want a hearty meal ready without more prep!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jettagirlk2
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
I made this recipe as modified by another user * way less water * in a slow cooker * more spices This came out delicious...however a bit runny...added some cornstarch near the end
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jettagirlk2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
I chose this dish for the first meal I have ever prepared in a crock pot. This stew is to die for. The only changes I made were to double the spices and flour and brown the meat. The consistency was perfect for us, but I may try adding the gravy next time like others have suggested. I'll be making this for my family often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
Very good recipe. My kid's and husband loved it!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
Very good and perfect for the Crock Pot. I used one can of beef broth instead of water and bouillon cubes. And I did increase the spices. Left out the peas, just don't like those in beef stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States