Christmas Eve Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I made this for my families Christmas meal. It was really pretty good. I browned the meat in some flour then put everything into the crock pot. Easy to make and everyone liked it. I only gave it 4 stars cuz I thought it could have used a bit more seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Very good stew!! I made a few changes that made this very similar to Cracker Barrell's beef stew that I love!! This calls for a lot of onions, so I reduced it to only one and a half chopped onions, added two bay leaves, added a few dashes of worcestershire sauce, I used fresh thyme and rosemary and did not add the marjoram. I used all the water called for. I omited the tapioca and used cornstarch to thicken it up. This stew is definately a keeper!! Will use again and again. Thx for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela W

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
Excellent Stew! I made this in the crockpot - cooked on LOW overnight (really on low you can cook this for 15-16 hours if necessary). Minor alterations: *I did flour and brown the meat, and then put about a cup of beef broth in that pan and DEGLAZED THE BROWNED BEEF BITS, and used that as part of the liquid. Unlike others, I used the full amount of water (broth) in the crockpot because we like more of a soup than a thick gravy type stew. Also doubled the spices, and added a bay leaf. That's it! By far the best stew I've ever made, and talk about easy! The consistency was just right - not too watery and not too gravy-ish. This will be something I'll make many times over the years. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Camas Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Camas, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
Very good stew. Made in the crockpot I don't think it changed the integrity of the recipe. By accident used one can of tomato sauce and one can of stewed tomatoes , the stew came out fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam from L.I.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sound Beach, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
Excellent recipe,I followed other people's advice to flour and brown the meat before putting it in my crock pot and the meat came out juicy and tender and also added more vegetables than the recipe calls for, the whole family liked it! I'll be making it again many times. Thank you Maridele for sumitting your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
This was pretty good. Much much better than anything you can get from a mix, thats for sure! I made it in the crockpot on High for 6 hours, and everything was tender and delicious. Made a great dinner paired with the Amish Bread from this site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandon, South Dakota, USA
Living In: South Hadley, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
I love the colorfulness, I'm tired of bland brown stew, and it was quite tasty. I froze the meat in the wine and vegetable broth until I was ready to make this recipe, marinates while it thaws. I followed advice on adding the spices (along with salt and pepper) towards the end and cut the water in half since I used the crockpot (I actually used vegetable broth instead of water), turned out perfect, didn't need to thicken it at all. Served over a bed of egg noodles, simply delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
Terrific flavor. I skipped the peas as it didn't sound good and added some extra carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzanne Gwinn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
The best stew I have ever made! Thanks. I followed the recipe, but also the comments of the reviewer for the crockpot method. It was very flavorful and thick. Delicious for the holidays when you want a hearty meal ready without more prep!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jettagirlk2
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
I made this recipe as modified by another user * way less water * in a slow cooker * more spices This came out delicious...however a bit runny...added some cornstarch near the end
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jettagirlk2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States