Christmas Eve Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
We've used this recipe in our family for three generations, starting with my grandmother. My 15-y-o daughter loves this also and she's not a 'stew' girl, preferring fast food or my 'chinese orange chicken' stir-fry. This is an American Family Classic in our home, we use this throughout the winter season - so warm and nourishing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lomita, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
I have never made a beef stew before, but always wanted to. I found this recipe, read all of the reviews, followed a couple of suggestions from previous reviewers, and loved it! I am currently making it again. We do not like tomatoes, so I used 1 14 oz can of stewed tomatoes and 1 14 oz can of tomato sauce. I did flour and brown the meat ahead of time, and I layered it all in the crock pot, leaving the spices out. I added the spices in about 2 hours before serving. I also added frozen corn and green beans in. I add the peas, corn and green beans in about 2 hours prior to serving as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
I hate to be the one to give this recipe 2 star, but I will explain. I mede it exactly as it is written, and at six hours into cooking, the meat was done, though tough, the veggies were not fully cooked/stil slightly crunchy, it was very bland, and the base was extremely thin and watery. I came back here and took a good look at the reviews and found the problem. Most people changed the recipe. Anyway, I salvaged it by doing most of the stuff listed, turning the oven up to 300 and cooking it for 3 more hours. Then it was very good, but also extremely annoying, especially eating dinner at 9:30. Please, people, stop rating recipes that you have drastically altered and changed. It is very misleading.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
Very Good.. YUmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheelara
Home Town: Leeds, Alabama, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Had it last night - my father in law had seconds! - A first!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Candiac, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Real good stew recipe. I was wondering what the tapioca would do to stew.. but really it just made the broth a bit thicker. I did add about 1 cup of corn to the recipe. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
Made this according to recipe (even with the peas-- I was skeptical), except that I simmered it on the stovetop. Husband and children gave it a thumbs-up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
Simple to make and the best beef stew ever. Kids love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OROSI RILEY

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
We made a modified version of this on our last camping trip. Cubed the meat from a 7-bone roast then seasoned/floured & browned in our camp dutch oven along with the onion & 2 garlic cloves. Forgot about the canned tomatoes, used italian seasoning blend (don't keep to many spices in the trailer), added the veggies an hour into cooking time & cooked another 45 minutes. Vented the lid for the last 30 minutes & no need for tapioca. This was super tasty, rich, thick & oh so comforting on a cool evening in the great outdoors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BudsGurls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Tried this and it was very easy and a wonderful way to use the veggies from the garden. It was nice to put it in the oven and forget about it for a few hours. My husband loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States