Christmas Eve Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I don't think I'll be waiting until Christmas Eve to make this again. I had a couple of insignificant changes; i skipped the marjoram (couldn't find it in cabinet) and doubled the thyme, used (2) 14 oz cans of diced tomatoes (that's what I had), 5 oz of peas and 5 oz edamame and 1 cup wine. I was concerned the onions wouldn't cook down enough but they did. I thought the consistency was good, it was a bit thinner than I would usually make but it was nice for dunking the dinner rolls. I layered the stuff in the pot, starting and ending with the tomatoes and added salt and pepper for each layer. I ended up having it in the oven for 5 hours at 275 deg. and then on low on the stove top for 30 min while the dinner rolls baked. I will try in crock pot but will soften the onions first for that method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Pembroke, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
This recipe needs modification. I followed the directions and found the meat to be tough, vegetables over cooked and the flavor bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
OK, I gave this five stars, but I did make some additions. I know how some of you frown on rating a recipe that you've modified. First I substituted venison for the beef. I did not per-cook or brown it, although I may the next time. In addition to the frozen peas, I added frozen corn and frozen beans. I didn't thaw any of these, just popped them into the mix. My wife got me pearl tapioca and I didn't know what to make of that, but I just added the same amount. After cooking a while (crock pot) it seemed quite thick so I added a can of Campbell's beef consumee and a can of water. This thinned it out to more of a stew than like the pudding it was. Like any recipe I think one has to be able to adjust it to their way of cooking and tastes. I made this the night before and then kept it overnight in our garage which was at about 50deg F. We served it the next day (Christmas) along with Butternut Squash Chepotlie Bisque and it was great. I'll definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Castorland, New York, USA
Living In: Glenfield, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Great flavour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Awesome base recipe! It was good just as listed, but then I doubled the seasonings, dredged and seared the meat, seared the chunked onion to bring out the flavor, used fingerling potatoes, added dried shitake mushrooms, and quadrupled the wine (I used a good zinfandel). I doubled the recipe as well, so no room in my big crock pot. I just put a giant pasta pot on the stove and let it simmer for 3 hours. Searing the meat & onions sped up the process as well as added flavor. (If I'm really in a hurry when making soup/stew I'll sear the carrots and any other slower-cooking veggies as well, while I'm working on the main pot of soup. This substantially speeds up cooking time of the soup and adds flavor that otherwise only would be gained by slow cooking for hours.) I served this stew for Christmas dinner with crusty rolls & butter, green salad, & choice of zin, cabernet, or merlot, and EVERYONE was ecstatic!! (Also had lots of appetizers.) I'll definitely make this stew again - it's the best recipe I've tried, and SO easy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Just finished making this recipe and it is awesome. I did double the spices, added a bay leaf as well as some salt and pepper but otherwise kept everything the same. I used the slow cooker set on high and it took about 4.5 hours. I did not use flour or pre-brown the beef and the beef is very tender. I think the tapioca is key for making a thick gravy. I also didn't skimp on the red wine. I have a meat and potato husband and he loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westfield, Indiana, USA
Living In: Moab, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Am I missing something? The only liquid is 1/4 cup of wine and a bit of tomato juice. And some say it is too thin and watery? Someone mentioned cutting the water, but there is no mention of water?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John Northrup

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I want to try this recipe and have read all the reviews...What I want to know is, where is the water in the ingredients/directions??? I had to rate it for my question to show...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Boulware

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
I really don't understand people complaining about this recipe. I thought it was fine, not my mom's standard but yummy and hearty, although I customized it to my liking. I don't like tomatoes or peas in my stew, I left them out and added 3 times more spices and bell peppers and some extra wine. Just a few points to the complainers: The reason to stew beef is because it's inherently the worst cut of the animal, just above the leftovers for ground beef. Hence the need to stew as long as needed, could be half hour with excellent meat or 3 hours for old cow... Beef is not the same everywhere. Depending on where you shop, you either get old dairy cow or 2 year old steer. The cheaper the cut, the more chewy it will be. Proper unfrozen aging of the meat removes rigor mortis and provides for blood coagulation prior to packaging. Some meats that are frozen just after butchering is never tender as the blood didn't coagulate. Buy better non-died meat. If the recipe is too bland, add flavors you like. A recipe is tailored to you personal taste when you make it, nobody forces you to like someone else's taste. If the stew is too liquid, add some thickening agent to it. Small glass of cold water with corn starch, flour or even beef gravy mix. Whenever I do a stew, I simmer the meat until really tender THEN add all the carrots, give them a cooking head start, THEN add the rest for 10 minutes. Potatoes differ, there are hundreds of different types with different cooked characteristics.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
We've used this recipe in our family for three generations, starting with my grandmother. My 15-y-o daughter loves this also and she's not a 'stew' girl, preferring fast food or my 'chinese orange chicken' stir-fry. This is an American Family Classic in our home, we use this throughout the winter season - so warm and nourishing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lomita, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States