Christmas Eve Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2004
This was wonderful. I substituted low sodium beef broth for the water and a little extra pepper. The beef was tender and perfect even after about 8-10 hours in the crock pot. My parents drove in Thanksgiving eve and it was the perfect meal for a cold Colorado night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2004
After 12 years of marriage, I finally found a great beef stew recipe! My son loved it too. I did all the things everyone said to do. The only thing was that after six hours in the oven, the potatoes were not soft so I cooked it an extra hour at 350.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2004
This was good. I added double the spices and a bay leaf. I also added 1/2 cup of red wine and a packet of gravy mix. As well, I didn't add the tapioca but instead used barley. I cooked it in my slow cooker on high for 5 hours and it came out great. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATWALK16

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2004
My family loves this recipe. I doubled the spices but did not add the gravy. This is comfort food at its best!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2004
It was OK. Nothing spectacular. I like barley so I added too much and it sucked all the liquid from the stew. That was probably why it was OK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2004
I made this in the slow cooker and my husband actually said the words "this is a keeper". Because slow cookers tend to 'keep' more liquid than a dutch oven, the only thing I would do different next time is use less water. I doubled the spices and I did add the brown gravy mix at the end. With less water I don't think you would need the gravy mix. Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Glenview, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2004
For a LONG time, I've been searching for a good old fashioned, heart warming stew, and I am so happy to say that I found it with this recipe. Many of the reviews suggested to double the dry spices and that I did along with using corn starch for a thickening agent since I didn't have any tapioca. Thank you so much Maridele! The stewed tomatoes really add a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Johnsburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2004
I was very disappointed in the way this dish turned out considering all the rave reviews. I cooked it for 8 hours on low in the crock-pot. The sauce was very watery, even though I added the tapioca and the brown gravy mix. In fact, it was so watery that I had to serve it over egg noodles just to soak up all the juice. The veggies came out fine. The beef was fork tender, but was dry inside. I won't make this again. I just don't have good luck with crock-pot meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2004
I took the suggestions of doubling the spices and adding the brown gravey packet. I also added mushrooms and peppers..it was a big hit!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2004
I made this for New Year Eve, it was wonderful. I floured and browned the beef for some additional flavor/looks, double the herbs, increased the wine (cheap merlot), and used a brown gravy packet as someone else suggested. Really liked the tomato in the stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manchester, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States