Christmas Eve Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
This was absolutely delicious!!! I changed it up a bit though! I actually chopped up about four cloves of garlic and added some finely chopped red and green bell pepper to the onion and celery mix, which I sautéed in some butter until opaque! I added some chopped up parsnips and a small turnip to the carrots and potatoes! I served it with hot buttered egg noodles with some freshly chopped parsley on top! This was more delicious then any stew I ever had anywhere! My roommate ate three huge bowls of it and fell in love!!! Cutie Pie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
I don't see where there is any water, in the recipe so where they get using half of the water?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
This is good any time when the weather is cold. Long cooking time makes the meat fork tender! however... 1. Recipe needs salt 2. I used a bit more meat. 3. Like some other posters, my instinct was to brown the meat in some fat, but I didn't, maybe next time. 4. I used a very big, heavy skillet with a tight-fitting lid 5. I used regular tomatoes, not stewed 6. I did not thaw the peas and recommend that you don't 7. most importantly, instead of boullion cubes, I used 2 teaspoons of "Better Than Boullion" paste and two cups of vegetable stock. The extra liquid was very helpful, and in fact I don't think it would have worked for me otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by della206

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Polson, Montana, USA
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Best recipe !!!!!So good .Spices just right.Had 1/2 pkg dried onion soup to use up,so threw that in,The wine was merlot.Good sized chunks of carrot and less onion( due to soup mix).Used cornstarch&water to thicken as I lost my tapioca!!!A great recipe to add or subtract what you have on hand.Slow cooker 5-6 hrs.A winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Wonderful! I followed the recipe as it said but I also used flour and browned meat and held off using the beef soup base for 3 hours
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty Fleeson King

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baden, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
I didn't have marjoram, so I substituted sweet basil. I would definitely recommend another's reviewer's advice and double the spices, as it was a bit bland. This makes A LOT of stew! I did add brown gravy mix at the end when I added the peas as the gravy was more of an au jus at that point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
I know some people are saying they cut back on the water - there is no water in this recipe, and it doesn't need it. I followed it exactly and it was so good!!!! Give it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susabelle
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Amazing! Best beef stew I've tasted! After reading all the reviews and revisions, I went with the recipe as written - no modifications. In the oven, exactly as written. It was/is perfect as written. Thickness is appropriate for stew - very thick. Vegetables and meat were perfect - not tough, not mushy. I'll be the first to admit that I'm not a super-skilled cook, but I do ok. I've traveled a lot and know good food; it was great to produce really good food! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Very easy and extremely delicious, will definitely make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I don't think I'll be waiting until Christmas Eve to make this again. I had a couple of insignificant changes; i skipped the marjoram (couldn't find it in cabinet) and doubled the thyme, used (2) 14 oz cans of diced tomatoes (that's what I had), 5 oz of peas and 5 oz edamame and 1 cup wine. I was concerned the onions wouldn't cook down enough but they did. I thought the consistency was good, it was a bit thinner than I would usually make but it was nice for dunking the dinner rolls. I layered the stuff in the pot, starting and ending with the tomatoes and added salt and pepper for each layer. I ended up having it in the oven for 5 hours at 275 deg. and then on low on the stove top for 30 min while the dinner rolls baked. I will try in crock pot but will soften the onions first for that method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Pembroke, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States