Christmas Egg Puff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Oh so yummy. Oh so easy. I added a bit of freshly ground pepper and a bit of ground mustard. My family devoured thus. Will make again and again. You could top it with veggies but I wouldn't bake them in because it may ruin the wonderful creamy texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
A 20 year tradition WITH the addition of 2 4 OZ CANS FINELY CHOPPED GREEN CHILES - called Chili Egg Puff around our house and my family would literally kill me if I didn't make this Christmas morning - or any morning you have a lot of people to feed. Even easier - Make it the day before and just bake in the AM - and individually FREEZE the leftover squares (if any!) and microwave for 1 minute on high - good as fresh baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
Pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
Big hit with my husband and two boys. I actually used my cast iron skillet for this. Just plopped the butter in the skillet and stuck it in the oven while it preheated. I did add a little Frank's Hot Sauce and some fresh ground pepper. I think next time, seeing as this is so simple, I might saute some vegetables in the skillet with the butter, then add in the egg ingredients and throw it into the oven. Very VERY simple, which I appreciated. It's like a quick omelette!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
Excellent ... perfect base for adding your own 'mix ins' like veggies or meats. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riceville, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
I have used a similar recipe every Christmas for more than 20 years. This recipe is a bit skimpy for 12 people. I use 20 eggs, 2lb. cottage cheese and 2 lb. shredded jack cheese. I add 2 small cans of chopped green chiles. This fills two pans: a 9"x13" + 7"x11" pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
This was just delicious! I tried it for breakfast this morning when looking for some variety from the norm- I happened to have most of the ingredients on hand- not quite enough montery jack cheese for the recipe so I supplemented the rest with parmesan. I scaled the recipe down to 2 servings, and made them in 2 4 inch ramekins. I cooked for about 20 minutes. Divine, and very fancy looking with cut melon on a pretty plate. I don't know why people would save this for Christmas, it was simple to prepare and divine to eat. I'll be making it more often then once a year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
Super easy recipe! My family likes seasonings so I added 1/2 tsp of fresh ground pepper, 1 tsp of sea salt, 1 tsp of garlic powder, and 1 tsp of minced onion to this recipe. Was just enough to give it a bit more kick. Still tasted great reheated the next morning!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
This is not just made on xmas. I make it all year round. It is to easy and good. The perfect base for any number on possibilities. I've made it just as and it's good but I love adding things to it. Vegetable or meants and different cheeses. Try it and you'll like it. Only thing I do different is cook it longer but no big deal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Airca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hendersonville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
This sounded boring to me but I ended up being surprised at how good it is! I made it just as written except that I omitted the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Baked Eggs

See how to make spicy baked eggs for breakfast, lunch, or dinner!

Individual Baked Eggs

Use a muffin tin to make simple baked egg, bacon, and cheese "muffins."

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States