Christmas Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
The terrific thing about this dip is that it is so different and unique! Love it and will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palatine, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bedford, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
This is more of a spread than a dip and not very tasty at all, in fact it is bland. I just served it at a Christmas party several days ago. I had around 60 guests and I had plenty of the spread left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
I LOVED this receipe -- made it twice over the holidays. The second time I cut back a little on the blue cheese just as a preference to have tht flavor a little more subtle. Everyone was snarfing it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
This was a fantastic and festive dish to serve for Christmas. I served it with both ginger snaps and whole wheat crackers and they were both a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justine

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
I have made this without blue cheese as well, just as yummy. You can also use Alouette Creme de Brie (in the specialty cheese case at the grocery) to simplify your prep work. *This recipe also doubles easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Excellent, do not like blue cheese so used Camembert instead. Adding salt and pepper for seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
This stuff is absolutely wonderful. I was looking for something to use up a bit of leftover brie and found this. I actually had all the ingredients on hand. I did add just a tiny dash of maple syrup because when I initally tasted it, it was way to salty. After refrigerating it overnight, it turned out wonderfully. There were 2 cheese balls there tonight, only mine got nearly devoured, lol. I am taking another one of these to another dinner in a few days. I did try the suggestion of a gingersnap and it is indeed different. It was too "gingery" for my tastes but others may like it. A less salty cracker like Wheat things or water crackers would be great with this. It is extrememly rich, but really good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JNB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Have made this several times...love it with ginger snaps - they hold up with the thickness of the spread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Several people said how much they liked it but the bleu cheese definitely gave it a sharp tang. The Cranberries helped balance it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
Made this at Christmas for a party. It was very popular; tastes great. It made a large mound of firm spread, enough for two parties. I trimmed it for the second party and it was great. The pistachio-dried cranberry topping made more than enough, so I saved the leftover topping in a baggie and it is great on oatmeal. I will make this again and again...the red cranberries and green pistachios looked so festive. Only thing: I could only find pistachios in the shell and it took me forever by hand to open the shells and remove the nuts. The pads of the fingers I used to pry open the relatively tight shells were sore afterwards. If you can find shelled pistachios, it will save a lot of time and finger-work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

PHILLY Buffalo Chicken Dip

See how to put a quick-and-easy twist on buffalo wings.

Crab Dip

See how to make a hot and creamy crab dip served in a bread bowl.

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States