Christmas Crunch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2001
This is all i have to say,"yummy".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2002
Very Good - Makes a great gift. This can be addictive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2004
Debbie, You have a winner! This is quick and easy to make and everyone loved it. Thanks Michelle Roe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mantua, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Palmerton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2004
If I could give this recipe 10 stars I would. I made 4 generous gift bags out of a doubled recipe -- would have been 6 except we couldn't stop eating it! The doubled batch cost about $5.00 since broken cashews are a deal at the local discount store. I spent more on all the stuff, of course, but had plenty of everything left over to make more so that's a rounded guess. In terms of the process: The butter goes in after it is cooked so it is hard to mess up. A similar candy burned (on low) before reaching hard crack when I tried to double it because the extra cooking time was too much for the butter in the recipe. The Christmas Crunch doubled up with no problem. I poured the doubled batch into two jelly roll pans but wish I would have had slightly bigger surfaces so I could have spread it out just a little thinner. Also, it took a long time for it to reach 280 degrees but went to 300 quickly after that -- so watch carefully toward the end. The best part is this is very no fuss. I didn't have to stand over it and it wasn't messy or time consuming (a few minutes on each end of the cooking process is all). The result is this sweet, buttery, crispy, nutty treat! Can't wait to try it with pecans or almonds. Thank you Debbie for my new Christmas gift recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
Easy to make. Not as buttery as I had hoped. Very Sweet! I was not sure what exactly defines crispy rice cereal. I used rice chex but got to wondering if it meant rice crispies instead. Feedback from other reviewers regarding type/brand of cereal they used would be appreciated. I am going to a holiday fair this weekend to sell my homemade goodies and I'll see how this recipe sells. Thanks for sharing your recipe Debbie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
I tried this recipe, b/c it got such high ratings. However, it was the worst thing I've ever tasted. First of all, it took SO long to boil to 300 degrees - about 45 minutes. In fact, I made candied walnuts (which are also on this site and, by the way, are awesome!) while I was waiting for the temperature to sufficiently rise. Secondly, when they were done, they tasted stale and were so sticky on my teeth that I thought my fillings would be ripped out! Don't waste your time on this, no matter how many 5-star entries it has received.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Georgia Sabovich

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Key West, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
Okay..I WOULD have given this 5 stars but I made it TWICE and I couldn't get it to HARDEN!? It TASYES fabulous, but I must be doing SOMETHING wrong(?) The second time I thought that I didn't boil it long enough the first time, so I boiled it longer and it set a little, but didn't get like peanutbrittle or anything (which I think it's supposed to(?) Anyway, I am thinking my mistake is that I DON"T have a candy thermometer....however I am STILL gonna try it a 3rd time because it tastes WONDERFUL! (They say "Third's a charm")! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
Wow, what an easy, great-tasting recipe! I love that, once you get the mixture up to the boil, you can take a break and spare your arm the constant stirring. The only concern I had with this recipe is that, with the quantities stated, it doesn't even come close to filling the 10 x 15 pan, so it spreads out into a thin layer that's kinda too thin on the ends to use as viable pieces once it's broken. I tried a triple batch, too, but that was too much. I'm thinking that a double batch would do the trick. I see lots of possibilites for this recipe, though, with other add-ins. Thanks so much for sharing it with us! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
Taste was good, but hard to chew ... I had trouble getting it spread thin enough, as it was setting up fast as I poured it in the pan ... if I'd gotten it thinner, it might have been better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
This was ok. It turned out very thick and hard. I think it needed some salt too. Sticks to your teeth--not a good gift for older people. Be prepared to wait a good 20 or so minutes for the mixture to heat to the 'hard ball stage'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Chef John’s Christmas Miracle Fudge

See how to make rich, amazing fudge with no dairy.

Christmas Wreaths

These charming Christmas wreaths are festive and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States