Christmas Creamy Egg Nog Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
This eggnog is pretty good. I'm still searching for the perfect eggnog but this is a good start. Here are some tips: - Use pasteurized-in-shell eggs. You can buy them by the dozen. They're found with the regular eggs. I use them when I make ice cream as well. - 5 oz of sweetened condensed milk is a little confusing. The store I was at sells 5 oz cans of evaporated milk, which may explain why some people complained the recipe was not sweet at all. Also, sweetened condensed milk is sold by weight, so a 14 oz can of it doesn't have anywhere near 14 oz of liquid. I took the recipe as calling for 5 oz liquid (more than half the can) and it still could use a little more sweetening. - When separating your eggs, remember the tiniest bit of yolk in your whites will keep them from getting stiff. This recipe is good enough to bring to my in-laws for the family gathering, but for that batch I'm going to throw in some heavy cream. It's still not quite rich enough. For my trial batch I did mix in a little cinnamon, and I think I'll also throw in some allspice into the next batch. All in all a good recipe. Flexible enough to play with and still end up with something drinkable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
I've never made egg nog before, but this sounded like fun. It was really good. I did the same as others and cooked the egg yolks with the sweetened condensed milk, let it cool, and then folded in the egg whites that were beaten until stiff. I tasted it right after making it, and didn't think it was good. But after it sat in the refrigerator for a couple of hours, I stirred it really good (it separates), and it tasted better. I used spiced rum on the side - a big hit. I'd probably make this again, but I'm still a little leary about the raw eggs. Make sure you don't give this to the sick, elderly or young children.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RachtheBach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jasper, Missouri, USA
Living In: New Lenox, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
I modified this recipe slightly as I wanted some egg nog but didn't want to use the uncooked-egg recipe I usually use so my three-year old could have some. I used 5 eggs, half a 14-ounce can of sweetened condensed milk, no sugar, 1 tsp vanilla, 4 cups of milk, maybe ½ or 3/4 tsp rum extract, and a sprinkle of nutmeg into the batch. I cooked the yolks with the sweetened condensed milk over low heat as recommended by previous reviewers. It took maybe 10 minutes or so, constantly stirring. Once it got pretty thick, I removed it from the heat and let it cool. Then I mixed the yolk mixture with the rest of the ingredients (except the egg whites) in the blender. I used a stand mixture to beat the whites until stiff peaks formed, and then I gently folded and stirred the whites into the milk mixture. I put it in a pitcher in the fridge for a few hours to chill, and gave it a good stir before serving. It's not quite as thick as the store-bought stuff, but it's a lot less fattening too! And to the previous reviewer, there is a BIG difference between sweetened condensed milk and evaporated milk!! Did you use the right one?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2005
It tastes nothing like egg nog. If you look at the recipe, it only calls for one tablespoon of sugar. It turns out like colored milk. We dumped it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
I loved it, however one of my kids didn't. It was a little sweet, and, as previously mentioned, it will separate overnight and look unappealing. I liked the thickness, I thought it was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
Great flavor, just a little thinner than I am used to. Maybe do some experimenting. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZK65

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
Not nearly as thick as it should be. I grew up drinking egg nog that was so thick and fluffy - yet creamy (mmm!) - that you really don't "drink" it. The difference is that you don't put milk in the thick kind at all. Instead, subsitute a pint of whipping cream (whipped), and fold it in with the yolks, rum, & sugar, then carefully fold in the egg whites. It's sooo much better! (Note: If you go with the modified recipe, you use 6 eggs and not just 4).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2005
This was excellent! I made it the night before my morning cookie exchange and had the rum available on the side. Best not to make it too far ahead, though, as it "settles." Still tasted good, but it separated overnight and had to be remixed before serving. (Next time I'll make it in the morning)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
I used this recipe as a base, and made my own changes. It turned out great, better than the store-bought my husband loves. Modifications: 6 eggs, 7.5 c milk, no sugar, 2 cans (10 oz each), 2 t vanilla, 4 t rum extract, 2 t nutmeg, 1 t allspice. I beat the whites separately, and cooked all the rest together until almost ready, then added the whites. Since I'm nursing, I wanted a safer recipe and this worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2004
good but better if you add some cinnimon and clove too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Spiced Christmas Wine

Treat your winter guests to a hot cup of holiday cheer.

Christmas Fruitcake

This light, delicious fruitcake features dried, not candied, fruit.

Amazingly Good Eggnog

See how to make creamy rum eggnog that’s…amazingly good.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States