Christmas Cranberry Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
My picky husband loves it and so do I. I used 2/3 of the whipped cream which was enough to use for hot chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Big hit at our Thanksgiving party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
My Mother in Law has always made this and now it is at our holiday table every year. A few tried and true suggestions. I wash and freeze the cranberries, then chop them in the food processor. Let the sugar, marshmallows and cranberries sit overnight in the fridge to bring out the flavor, and the marshmallows dissolve a bit. Add more sugar if needed. In place of pineapple, we use one or two Granny Smith apples chopped into small pieces, adds a nice crunch and texture.The cranberries keep them from turning brown and they stay crisp. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
This is the same recipe that was passed down through our family from my grandmother! We make it for every holiday/special occasion meal, and though we sometimes double or even triple the recipe, the leftovers never seem to last more than two days. The way we make this is to marinate the pineapple with the cranberry, and then let the marshmellows have plenty of time to absorb the juices. Only mix in the whipped cream at the very last minute - sometimes it can seperate and the salad can get a little watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Wonderful! I make without the marshmellows and reduce the amount of whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
This is one of my favorite Christmas churck/"fluffy" salads--actually one of the first cold salads I made for my first family gathering with my husband's family. Having made this for many years, really only one cup of sugar is needed--two cups makes it way too sweet. For those who have issues making their own whipped cream (aka ME), you can substitute a tub of Cool Whip in it's place. This is also good with a large drained can of mandarin oranges, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
I've made this twice since Thanksgiving! First batch I thought it was too watery with juice so on the second batch I drained the sugar syrup after soaking the mixture over night and it came out perfect! I saved the syrup to use as a ice cream topping and used in my cranberry cookies. It was delish. Thank you for posting! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
A similar version has been in my family for 50 years! We omit the marshmallows and add 1 cup finely chopped pecans. We always serve it frozen and it's always a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
too sweet for us. I added cream cheese to tone it down. Also cut back on sugar to 1 1/2c and marshmallows to only 8oz.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Amazing! I've never done anything with fresh cranberries before but this was totally easy and worth it! I dumped the cranberries in my HealthMaster and whipping cream in my stand mixer and perfection! Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Salad II

This salad is bursting with fruit and nuts, and is a great holiday side dish.

Cranberry Mustard Salad Dressing

See how to make a tangy cranberry and mustard-based vinaigrette.

Cranberry and Cilantro Quinoa Salad

See how to make a quinoa salad with dried cranberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States