Christmas Cranberry Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
I thought this was delicious! I did take some of the suggestions in previous reviews to "tweak" this recipe just a tad. I cut the sugar down to 1 1/2cups, I added a tsp of vanilla to the whipping cream, and only used half of the marshmallows. I also put the cranberries and pineapple in a sieve and left it to sit for a while to get any excess juice out. I ended up with a great salad that was not at all "runny". I have already recommended this recipe to several people!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
This is one of my favorite Christmas churck/"fluffy" salads--actually one of the first cold salads I made for my first family gathering with my husband's family. Having made this for many years, really only one cup of sugar is needed--two cups makes it way too sweet. For those who have issues making their own whipped cream (aka ME), you can substitute a tub of Cool Whip in it's place. This is also good with a large drained can of mandarin oranges, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2000
Delicious! We made this for Thanksgiving dinner and it was a big hit with the adults. The kids were afraid to try it because it looked "crunchy" (pineapples), but we'll certainly make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
I made modifications due to my dislike for marshmallows... In the place of marshmallows I added one jar of maraschino cherries and more nuts than the recipe called for. I also added a tablespoon of good Mexican vanilla. One more thing, this serves many more than 7! I would estimate that it yields 12-16 servings. It was the best. I can't imagine freezing it though. It was fabulous chilled and creamy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by De

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2002
This was a fantastic way to serve cranberries! I have made this recipe several times and although it makes a fairly large amount, I never have any leftovers. That speaks volumes in my family where the table is heavily laden with food when we all gather.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2000
I made this salad on Thanksgiving...It was a nice change from the apple cranberry pie I usually made that only I would eat! All of my sons and thier families loved it! Babies too! It was fresh,cool,creamy. Very easy to make! No one knew that it was the cranberries that made it that pretty pink color and unique taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Joliet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2001
This recipe would have been better if it was a little sweeter. Most everyone in my family didn't take second helpings. I didn't care for the texture of the nuts in it. Cool whip would have probably done the trick rather than whipped cream. I will modify it this way next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Everyone loved this at Christmas Dinner. It looked very pretty next to the rest of the salads. I added the full amount of all ingredients, except marshmallows--I probably only put a cup, and it was just enough. I didn't have any problems with it being runny like some did. I didn't just drain the crushed pineapple, I squeezed a lot of the juice out. Also, you have to beat the whipping cream long enough for it to be very stiff. I think if yours gets runny, it's because you're not beating the cream long enough or you're using Cool Whip instead. And to cast my vote on the Frozen verses Chilled versions-- I prefer Chilled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
I really liked this concoction...a great way to use fresh cranberries! However, a few comments: There seems to be a large proportion of marshmall ows, which skews the consistency for me. Will use fewer marshmallows and perhaps more nuts? Some diced apple? Or maybe pineapple tidbits instead of crushed? Also, maybe I'm an idiot, but I was kind of shocked by the huge amount that this recipe made. lol. The flavor is spot-on. :-) UPDATE: This was SO GOOD after it sat for a day....can't stop eating it!! Also fantastic frozen. Changing rating from a 4 to a 5!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MollyBrook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Amazing! I've never done anything with fresh cranberries before but this was totally easy and worth it! I dumped the cranberries in my HealthMaster and whipping cream in my stand mixer and perfection! Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaurenW

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Salad II

This salad is bursting with fruit and nuts, and is a great holiday side dish.

Cranberry Mustard Salad Dressing

See how to make a tangy cranberry and mustard-based vinaigrette.

Cranberry and Cilantro Quinoa Salad

See how to make a quinoa salad with dried cranberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States