Christmas Cranberry Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Everyone loved this at Christmas Dinner. It looked very pretty next to the rest of the salads. I added the full amount of all ingredients, except marshmallows--I probably only put a cup, and it was just enough. I didn't have any problems with it being runny like some did. I didn't just drain the crushed pineapple, I squeezed a lot of the juice out. Also, you have to beat the whipping cream long enough for it to be very stiff. I think if yours gets runny, it's because you're not beating the cream long enough or you're using Cool Whip instead. And to cast my vote on the Frozen verses Chilled versions-- I prefer Chilled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
My mom always made this, as do I. It's tradition on Thanksgiving. Cool whip makes it much easier, and we don't use as much sugar. All a personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
I've been making this recipe for years. Originally got it from an aunt who has always had a real "way" with great food and entertaining. It's a light, creamy take on cranberry (always a favorite anyway). Make it exactly "as written" -- you WON'T be disappointed! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
I really liked this concoction...a great way to use fresh cranberries! However, a few comments: There seems to be a large proportion of marshmall ows, which skews the consistency for me. Will use fewer marshmallows and perhaps more nuts? Some diced apple? Or maybe pineapple tidbits instead of crushed? Also, maybe I'm an idiot, but I was kind of shocked by the huge amount that this recipe made. lol. The flavor is spot-on. :-) UPDATE: This was SO GOOD after it sat for a day....can't stop eating it!! Also fantastic frozen. Changing rating from a 4 to a 5!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MollyBrook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
We make this every year for Thanksgiving...definitely a family favorite. We have one variation, we add peeled, diced green apples in the first step.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
Absolutely loved it! I didn't put all the marshmallows in, but next time I would! I've frozen some and it's an amazing treat to pull out when you want something sweet. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
This was very good and I tried it the first time this Thanksgiving, everyone loved it the only thing I did different, I added 2 cubed red apples and frozen whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl K.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollywood, Florida, USA
Living In: Apopka, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
I made modifications due to my dislike for marshmallows... In the place of marshmallows I added one jar of maraschino cherries and more nuts than the recipe called for. I also added a tablespoon of good Mexican vanilla. One more thing, this serves many more than 7! I would estimate that it yields 12-16 servings. It was the best. I can't imagine freezing it though. It was fabulous chilled and creamy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by De

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
I have a similar recipe which calls for a chopped Granny Smith apple instead of the pineapple and used real whipped cream rather than whipped topping. It's always a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
This salad is delightful. The crunch of the berries and pineapple is fantastic. My mother-in-law makes this for all our family gatherings and there are rarely any leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori VE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Cloud, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Salad II

This salad is bursting with fruit and nuts, and is a great holiday side dish.

Cranberry Mustard Salad Dressing

See how to make a tangy cranberry and mustard-based vinaigrette.

Cranberry and Cilantro Quinoa Salad

See how to make a quinoa salad with dried cranberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States