Christmas Couscous Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by kellieann
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
This was pretty good. I sauteed the bell peppers with minced garlic in the butter and then added equal parts of water and couscous along with the parmesan cheese. At the table we seasoned it with salt and pepper and it went great with our spinach stuffed salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Very simple and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTCHYG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
Instead of water, I used chicken broth and also added garlic powder as others recommended. Then, this made a pretty good side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomofTynTrev

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
Mmm Mmm Good! I loved this. It was quick, easy and tastes great! Also tastes great with chopped tomatoes and mozzarella cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
This was a very nice, festive looking side dish for my New Years Eve party. The taste was pretty good, but as others commented, could use just a bit of perking up. No complaints from any guests, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
This is a good way to dress up couscous! But I had to figure out how much 6 oz. was. So I went with 1 Cup. Then I used only 1 1/2 C. water. 4 Cups would have drowned it. Also took advice of others and added garlic powder and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
I liked this recipe because it was very simple. However, I gave it a 3 because I agree with the first reviewer about it being bland. I added garlic, but I think the recipe could be approved on more by adding some spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
This recipe works great as a side dish. I used feta cheese instead of Parmesan cheese and I added raisons to give it a little more flavor.My only real problem with this type of couscous is that I find it can be a little dry. As a result I like to serve it with a main dish that has sauce. I have had comments from some that they would have liked a dressing, perhaps a vinigrette, or something of that nature.All in all it is a great recipe and the green and red peppers definitely make it a christmas side dish.Cheers,Glen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2002
My husband & I found this to be incredibly bland. Garlic or some sort of spice would make a big difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2000
I thought this was really easy and fast to make. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Couscous Primavera

See how to make a fast and easy side dish with spring veggies.

Israeli Couscous and Cheese

Check out this deliciously different take on mac and cheese.

Shrimp and Vegetable Couscous

See how to make healthy, flavorful shrimp and veggie couscous.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States