Christmas Cornflake Wreath Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
Like the recipe I've used for more than 40 years, this recipe calls for almond extract as well as the vanilla, which I like. What's different about this recipe from mine is that it uses a tad more butter and marshmallows, which I thought might make this a little easier to mix with and coat the cornflakes but I learned the difference is negligible. Maybe I do it the hard way, but I neither microwave this nor use a double boiler. I just melt the marshmallows in a big non-stick Dutch oven over medium-low heat, which makes clean-up incredibly easy. Work fast and get yourself another set of hands to put the red hots on if you can because this sets up very quickly! Pretty and gooey and sweet, these have always been a favorite with both kids and adults alike. In fact, they are still one of my kids' favorites - and they're now 28 and 30 years old!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
I remember these from when I was a child. My grandma would make these every Christmas. This is the first time I made these in a very long time. I only had the large marshmallows, not the minis but they work the same, just make sure you have enough they do measure differently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claridge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ooltewah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
This is exactly how my mom always made them! Can't improve on perfection! I always laugh at people's reactions to green cornflakes, but yum. Messy to make though. We usually spray our hands with cooking spray and set them out on wax paper to reduce the stick factor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
This is my favorite Christmas recipe. You can substitute 36-40 large marshmallows for the small ones if you want. For all of you who don't like the almond or vanilla extract, get rid of both and substitute a teaspoon of lemon extract. This is the way my mom made them when I was a kid. The lemon extract is subtle and not at all overpowering. I like the idea of red M&M's instead of the red hots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
Everyone loved these.... I used red M&M'S instead of red hots... Not to big on cinnamon candy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LauraLu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Homer Glen, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
Tastes pretty much just like a rice crispy treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
Thank you for reminding me of one of my favorite holiday treats. I was so excited to be able to share this recipe with my 6-year old daughter this Christmas. I lined my baking sheets with wax paper and sprayed them with cooking spray and had no issues with them sticking. I used a 16oz bag of large marshmallows that and found that I did have to add about an extra cup of cornflakes to reach the correct texture. I handled the hot mixture and my daughter went behind me and added red M&M's instead of red hots - she doesn't like the red hots. We both loved them and look forward to making them again next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spring Lake, Michigan, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
Loved these! Grease up your fingers with a little margarine before trying to form the wreaths.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
The almond extract was a little strong but husband and daughter loved these. I will probably use less almond extract next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
this is easy and great! i ditch the coloring because i'm making it for Chinese New Year and almond essence as suggested by other reviewers. i had to make another batch 3 days before Chinese New Year and seal them with tapes so that my sister won't finish the second batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chocolate chip

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kuching, Sarawak, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States