Christmas Cornflake Wreath Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Yummy, sticky and tough to shape into wreaths, but good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Camp Hill, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
I love these! Well worth the stickiness and the mess I remember as a kid. They not only are festive but taste really good! I left out the almond extract and used 1 whole teaspoon of vanilla extract instead. I also used a whole tube of the green food coloring gel and they still weren't as green as I'd have liked, but they still came out really cute. I'll be making these again every Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Figs5

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
Always a winner. I had to make and bring 6 dozen to a party. To save time I used an ice cream scooper to make round balls and called them holly bushes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
These were the cookies my childhood friends mother used to make! Surprisingly yummy! I was not talented enough to make mine into little wreath shapes (they're too hot when you're handling them), but they're still cute and taste really good. Fun to see/have something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
Used food coloring paste to get a deeper color. They looked great, really green. We used honey bunches of oats for the cereal and m&m's for the decorations. I added an extra 1/2 t. of vanilla for my daughter the vanilla girl. I was to scared to make these in the microwave so I melted the butter in a sauce pan, added my extracts and my coloring paste, and then added the marshmallows. Worked great but I'm hoping they'll set up a bit more. She's taking them to Kindergarten tomorrow for snack. She loved decorating them as I shaped the wreaths. We will definetly make this one a tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
Made these into globs of holly, so easy and pretty. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
Hands-down best Christmas cookie of the year! The flavor is just perfect and tasty - although explaining that it's just like a Rice Krispie treat without the Rice Krispies is a challenge. It's delicious, gooey, and addictive. The green color is nice and dark (not washed out like the photo above). These cookies looke VERY FESTIVE! NOTE TO THOSE MAKING FOR THE FIRST TIME: I got scared half way through nuking the marshmallows, seeing that all of them haddisappeared leaving nothing but butter in the bowl. Relax, it still turns out beautifully and marshmallowy. I might leave off the cinnamon candies (they're enough to break a tooth on!). But otherwise I'll be making these every year from now on. A+++++++++++++++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Schumm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
This is a great recipe!! I cut the extracts to 1/4tsp each, and they weren't so over powering. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
Very good! The recipe only made about 15 wreaths (about a medium sized cookie) so I ended up doubling it. Also, my husband and I aren't that fond of red hots, so I substituted them for some bits of maraschino cherries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
Yummy!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JStoddard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States