Christmas Cornflake Wreath Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
Haven't had these since I was a kid. I made these with Special K w/Berries. I removed the strawberries, broke them and added them after I formed the wreaths (using the end of a wooden spoon). I found the solution to the "sticky" storage problem. I dusted the wreaths with powdered sugar "snow" and lined the bottom of my container with it as well. Made them so much prettier - plus lots less sticky. The Special K and berries gave them an amazing flavor. Wish I had taken a photo. They were sooo pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
One of my favorites at Christmas time. I replace the red hots with cinnamon jelly bellies as they are chewy and won't break a tooth :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matt Wilken

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
There's just way too much butter or I guess you could say not enough marshmallows and corn flakes. Hope my mom can find her old recipe as we just love these wreaths and they are always a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eliza Graves

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
I used parchment paper instead of waxed, and sprayed it with Pam, and they came up easily after they cooled. Might work better than wax paper did for some folks. Yes, move fast to scoop, dump, shape and stick on the reds! A two-person job minimum, 3 is nice. Also, thanks for the glove idea. My fingers are still kind of green! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Great recipe for these better than the ones grandma made growing up
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rowave411
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Made this for Christmas Cookie exchange, it was a big hit! Everyone loved that it's very festive, no kids around the house so hubby had to help put the red hots, a definitely needed help, had a hard time making the hole in the middle, but still turned out great! Will definitely make some more again next year!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
I've been making cornflake wreaths for many years and this is the recipe I like the best. I think the extra 2 minutes of cooking the marshmallows make the cookies less sticky, and our family enjoys the almond flavoring. I spray a ¼ cup measuring cup with pam and scoop the mixture onto waxed paper with that, then form the wreaths. So our cookies are rather large (and we like them that way.) This is the one cookie I'm required to make each year--I noticed you can half the recipe, but we usually double it. I would recommend if you double the recipe that you make each batch separately. Otherwise it is very hard to find a large enough dish to microwave the mixture in (it expands) and it is hard to get the wreaths formed before some of the mixture starts to harden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Stillwater, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Satellite Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
I LOVE THESE! So did my whole family. They taste almost like a rice krispy treat but with a little almond flavor. I did cut the almond in half and used m&m's instead of red hots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Love this recipe! Definitely use the almond extract; that's what differentiates this from the cereal treats. I used a red frosting pouch to dot red holly berries on the cereal mound to really save time. These are such a breeze to make! I've made these for Valentine's Day as well. I added red (pink) food coloring and easily shaped the warm " mound" into a heart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I love these so much that I don't limit making them to only Christmastime! The almond extract totally makes these cookies so much better than rice krispie treats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States