Christmas Cookie Cut Outs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
This recipe is fantastic. The nutmeg really makes them stand out from traditional xmas cookies. You can make these thin or thick and they are great. When they are thicker, they taste just like those soft sugar cookies with thick frosting that you find in your local bakery. This will become a tradition in my family as well. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
I was so excited to try this recipe, but it did not work for me. The dough never did get to the consistency of being able to roll out. I then decided to just roll the dough into balls and bake it. Well, I found the cookies to be very airy and they didn't have much taste. It was like biting into a tasteles air cookie. The frosting was WAY TOO SWEET. I made a different batch of cut-out cookies and used the frosting recipe, and while everyone loved the sugar cookie, no one would eat them once frosted because it was too sweet. Someone commented they could go into a diabetic coma after eating one of those cookies, (of course they were kidding, but still). I wouldn't recommend this recipe. Sorry, I was disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ksmiley39

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
These cookies are just sweet enough to eat without icing and, when cut a bit thicker, so soft! I had a great time cutting Christmas cookies out of the dough. I will definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hesperia, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
These cookies came out PERFECT! I followed the recipe exactly but for one thing. because of some unexpected things we made the dough one night. and didn't roll and bake them for almost a week later. I also took a few suggestions from Alton Brown's Good eats show and split the dough up into 4 sections before I chilled it then rolled and baked each section using powdered sugar instead of flour. I also used a set of 1/4 inch rolling pin bands so that the dough rolled even and to the right depth. Those made a difference too. They were a huge hit at my daughter's Christmas Party. However, I can't speak too the taste of the icing or anything because we simply dusted the cookies with colored sugar and sprinkles. and I honest thing they were perfect that way. I will definatly be making them again, maybe even with the icing.... oh my only negative, they spread out a bit more than I expected. luckily I was making retty basic shapes but had they been more complicated they would have run together and blurred the shape. but that's about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
If you take out the butter and use lard they are dairy free. If you take out the wheat flour and use rice/tapioca they become gluten free too! I have been searching for something like this since my son was diagnosed with allergies. To the people that had trouble rolling the dough out... Did you flour the top of the dough and rolling pin. It makes a world of difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Assiniboia, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
I only made a half batch of the icing as I had some leftover icing in the freezer. However, the half batch was enoug to ice all of my cookies. I found the cookies to be slightly tasteless, so I sprinkled a mixture of cinnamon, nutmeg and white sugar on top of the icing and that seemed to make them ore tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
very blan cookie needs more sugar won't make again......... ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by William Rossbach

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
The cookies taste great, but were terrible for rolling out and using cookie cutters. The dough was really sticky and I had to add tons of flour to make it work. Then I had a problem getting some of the dough out of the cutters. After cooking, they were way too soft and fell apart as I took them off the cookie tray. Some of them even lost thier shape. I cooked the next tray for 15 minutes and had somewhat better results. If you want to roll and cut out cookies I would not recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
These are great!! My daughter and I made the dough, and left it in the fridge over night and I took it out in the am and didn't actually roll till much later in the day and it was fine to roll. However, it is quite delicate. It cut fine and didn't stick. As for the frosting, I divided it up into four portions and we made four different colours. I put the cookies in for 6 minutes so they will be a bit soft rather than hard and crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Luv2cook09
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
I liked this recipe a lot. It's easy, and tastes great! However, I had alot of icing left over. Instead of refrigerateing overnight I just put the dough in the freezer for about five minutes and it turned out fine. Qwick, easy, and yummy, I give it five stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Holly Springs, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States