Christmas Cinnamon Pears Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: May 20, 2015
PERFECT! I was looking for a dessert that would be "light" and this was PERFECT even though it wasn't Christmas. I loved the way the cinnamon flavored the pears. I didn't have pear halves but I did have sliced pears, so I used them. Hubby and I both agree this would be great using apples as well. Thank you Erin for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
These are great. I added them to romaine lettuce & pecans and drizzled with balsamic dressing to make a tasty salad. I also topped crackers with baked Brie cheese and these pears thinly sliced (my teenager freaked out over that one!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
These looked better than they tasted.They tasted okay though. I had to sub fresh pears since the store was oSoooo, I cored, peeled&poached five (3#).What I did: Boiled 2c water,added 1/2c sugar, stirred to dissolve; added 3.75oz bottle cinnamon decorator candies, no food coloring.There was about a teaspoon that didn't dissolve, gummy/sticky that I just took out. Added 2c more water, returned to a boil.Added the pears.Brought to a gentle boil&reduced. Placed a ring of waxed paper over to help evenly cook.Every so often,I'd move the pears around. In 30 minutes,they tested done.Cooled them in the pot to room temp then refrigerated for two days.I cut them in to slices,12 per pear,& arranged them on a white dish to look like poinsettia petals,all the same way curved.The inside didn't get as pink as the outside,but that made it even prettier,the variation.Combined small,8oz?,tub storebrand cool whip,8oz cream cheese (whipped till fluffy)&1/4-1/2csugar.Placed a little of that in the middle of the dish right before serving.The remaining I added a little cherry juice&served it with Black Forest Cake.Sum up: Some people didn't try because they didn't know what they were.Some didn't try because they knew it was pears. Pretty, but not too impressive by the flavor.Definately easy though - & anything that can be made ahead is always good.If I make again,I'd add more candies-& maybe buy canned pears. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Wonderful. Even better several days later I used Brach's Cinnamon Imperials because I couldn't find official "Red Hots". This will be on the Christmas breakfast menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
My mother made these every holiday. She also filled the pear halves with softened cream cheese and topped with chopped walnuts. My children and grandchildren request them every holiday. It has now been a family favorite to remember Grandma Mary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
My family has been making cinnamon pears for Christmas Eve for decades. My recommendations are to leave the pears in the cinnamon syrup for at least 2 days. This will infuse them with even more cinnamon flavor. We also use about a bag and a half of Red Hots and don't use red food coloring since the candies make the pears red enough on their own. What can I say, we like our pears cinnamon-y! My last recommendation is to serve the pears with a dollop of cream cheese resting on the pear. The cream cheese really ties the room together, plus it's a nice counter to the cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
I have been making these pears for my family for years for Valentines Day. They love them and look forward each year. I suggest that you take two pear halves and stuff with your favorite white cream filling. I use cream cheese mixed with cool whip and slivered almonds. When put together the pear halves become a beautiful, tasty treat served on lettuce on a Dollie. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
This was a lovely beginning to our Christmas dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Pretty good, most people enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Our cousin makes this and all she does is let the pears and red hots sit together overnight. But this recipe insures that the candies melt! Hope my daughter takes this to her first t-giving with her boyfriend. Everyone will be impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Cinnamon Sour Cream Biscuits

Slightly sweet and super tender biscuits studded with raisins and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States