Christmas Chocolate Town Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
I followed the recipe exact. I have to admit that I was quite worried that the cake was not going to be good because the batter looked........off. It was extremely thin, the color was odd and it just seemed as if I'd missed a step as I'd made the cake batter. As I pulled it out of the oven, it looked perfect! I frosted this cake with my own recipe for Chocolate Buttermilk Buttercream. I did not try this cake myself but my husband and kids raved about it all night last night. Just goes to show you, you never know how a recipe will turn out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2004
Yes, I was in such a rush to make this cake, I broke the first rule of cooking: read all directions before starting to make the recipe. To my delight, even though I messed up, this cake came out wonderfully. So, if you sift the cocoa in with yout flour mixture, and you simply mix the shortening, hot water, sugar and vanilla - it won't look promising, but it will turn out. I can't wait to make this recipe the right way ext time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilkaisha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
Beautiful. Nothing at all to criticize on this one! Given that the batter looked a little questionable, almost curdled rather than velvety smooth, I had my doubts. I cut into the cupcakes I made from this batter with trepidation! But no worries, this cake is GOOD! Light, fluffy and soft, VERY moist and kind of a milk-chocolate color, it was a nice change from heavier, denser, darker chocolate cakes. Didn't change a thing and wouldn't in the future either. I frosted it with "Peanut Butter Frosting," also from this site and it was a beautiful combination, both in color and in taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
This is originally from many of the Hershey's cookbooks, where it's known as "Hershey's Chocolate Town Special Cake." When you think of the chocolate cake from your childhood that your Grandma made, this is it. It's been my go-to chocolate cake recipe for many years, and never once did it fail to turn out and garner many compliments, as well as moans of near-ecstasy. From experience, I can tell you that both the taste and texture is slightly better when you use the actual buttermilk, as opposed to using fresh milk with added lemon juice or vinegar to sour it. But if that's all you have, rest assured it will still turn out very well - just a matter of tiny degrees, certainly not a deal breaker. It has a perfect chocolate flavor, and a moist, fine, velvety crumb. It stays moist for days, if kept covered (but it probably won't last long enough for you to put that to the test!) Frosted either with chocolate or vanilla buttercream (or even a whipped ganache,) this is a sure-fire winner that delivers dependably outstanding results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2000
excellant. moist but not too heavy. nice with a cream cheese frosting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
This is very similar to Hershey's Chocolatown Special Cake, however the flour, soda and salt measurements in this recipe are not the same. Hershey's calls for 2 1/4 cups of flour, 1 1/2 tsp. baking soda and 1/2 tsp. salt. Made according to Hershey's recipe and use real butter for the shortening and buttermilk not sour milk and it is fabulous. I use the buttercream icing and store the cake in the refrigerator. It is rich, chocolaty and delicious. I just bake in a 9x13 pan and it turns out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
My biggest issue with the cake is that it felt too heavy. I think next time I'll include less butter and fatty foods. Otherwise, the cake was nice and spongy, It needed a sleek icing to top it off, but it tasted pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
ummm, sorry to say that this cake disappointed me. i've made plenty of chocolate cakes (many of them from this site) and this isn't a recipe that i'm going to keep. it lacks in chocolate flavor and if i hadn't topped it with chocolate ganche, my family wouldn't have eaten it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States