Christmas Casserole Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
I got this recipe more than 30 years ago from a Christmas cookie exchange party in Denver. It has become a tradition in my family to make them at Christmas. My recipe says to take the casserole out of the oven every 10 minutes and scrape the sides with a fork to keep the coconut from getting burned on the edges. (The problem is that it tastes so good that I have to eat a forkful each time I stir. Yummy!!) I usually let it cool overnight, and roll them into small balls the next day. You can freeze them after you roll them into balls. I then roll them in powdered sugar, not granulated. They are best just big enough to pop in your mouth, not bite. (powdered sugar can be a little messy to eat.) Everyone loves these. My daughter-in-law made them with dried cherries when she didn't have dates. Yes these are messy to make....but worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2001
Peggy, thank you for posting this recipe. I've been looking for it for years. Folks this is a wonderful holiday cookie. I top mine off with half a candied cherry to make them look festive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bishopville, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
Terrific Old Fashion Recipie! Ok...first I want to say that the last person who left a review for this said they barely got 3 doz out of it and that it was messy...I am wondering if you maybe covered it while it was cooking?...leaving it to sticky. Also how big of balls did you make? I made balls the size of large marbles and I got around 6 dozen...also my dough was not messy at all...I had to press it to make it stick together into balls (once pressed they stayed formed very well...not crumbly at all) Anyway...I just made these and they are very good and very christmasy :) I must say though, that when I took the "dough" out of the oven I was suprised at the consistancy. It was a dry "casserole" (looked like dressing) that I wasn't expecting. Better words could be used in the directions to save confusion. (the directions say to beat well with a wooden spoon...it should say to break up or loosen) I almost discarded it but I took my wooden spoon and "beat" it as best I could. (I just stired and got it all loosened and broken up) As long as you aren't thinking of typical cookie dough you'll be ok. After the mixture cooled I pressed the dough into balls and rolled them in sugar assembly line style. It was very easy but a bit time consuming...they are good though...and very Grandma-ish :) thanks for sharing Peggy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2005
I usually don't goof, but I still give this a 5* because it was my fault. Be careful. It calls for 1 1/4 cup sugar, but you are to use only 1 cup in the batter. It made them a tad bit sweet, so I added some coco powder and it reduced the sweetness a bit. I put the batter in a 9" brownie pan and that was fine. Yes, they do get a bit sticky, but I just put some sugar in my palm, and rolled away. It makes a large quantity and they are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Paradise Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
These are great! They remind me of Christmas at my grandparents house. I didn't like them as a kid, but wow, they are really great now! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda M.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
So easy and so good! These are almost like date logs but less dense. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spencer, Iowa, USA
Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
This is the easiest cookie mix awesomely delicous and cooling was a little long but made a triple batch and they went fast
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBRAMAE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Cranston, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
Thank you so much for this recipe. My Mom made these for us when we were little, so they definitely are an old fashioned Christmas cookie. Mom always made them into little logs instead of the balls, but they are really wonderful cookies, no matter what shape you form them into. Thanks very much Peggy for posting this recipe. They will be on my cookie tray this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
Honestly I expected to hate these due to the coconut but my husband likes it and I had all these odd ingredients left over after cleaning my cupboards out. They turned out really well and we ended up fighting over who got the last cookie. I used sweetened angel flake coconut, candied cherries, candied ginger, walnuts and after the mixture had cooled down I also added chocolate chips. They were sticky to roll so I ended up using parchment paper to roll the mixture into a log and then sliced off equal portions which didn't require quite as much handling. Next time I will skip rolling them in sugar as they are pretty sweet already. I will definitely make them again as the whole family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
I would make these again. They're pretty good for the little effort required. Dough was crusty on the outside and gooey on the inside when it came out of the oven, but it all stirred together to form a sort of crumbly mixture. It is certainly easier to roll into balls if you wait until the dough is completely cool. I had a sticky mess when I started too soon and found it much easier when I followed the directions and waited for it to cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States